Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2019 Pennzoil 400 presented by Jiffy Lube

Whether they are irritating interruptions, or chances for folks to run for more snacks, commercials are a reality for NASCAR fans on race day. For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2019 Pennzoil 400 presented by Jiffy Lube

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 3:30 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 6:23 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 173
Minutes of race broadcast: 134
Minutes of traditional commercials: 39
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 8

Total number of commercials: 121
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 47
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 98
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 45
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 23
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 15
Number of times Fox utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 4

Companies seen the most during this broadcast: Midas (6 times); Toyota (6 times).

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 3
‘Maury’, ‘2½ Men’, ‘Big Bang Theory’ – 2
‘Race Hub’ foxsports.com/nascar/racehub – 2
‘Sean Hannity’ foxnews.com/shows/Hannity – 1
Fox Sunday: ‘Bob’s Burgers’ fox.com/bobsburgers and ‘Family Guy’ familyguy.com and ‘The Simpsons’ thesimpsons.com – 1
Big East Conference on Fox foxsports.com/college-basketball – 1
Boxing on Fox Sports foxsports.com/boxing – 1
‘Big Bang Theory’ and ‘2½ Men’ – 1
Golf on Foxfoxsports.com/golf – 1
‘Mental Samurai’ fox.com/mental-samurai/ – 1
‘911’ fox.com/9-1-1 on Fox – 1
’24 Hours To Hell & Back’ fox.com/gordon-ramsays-24-hours-to-hell-back/ on Fox – 1

Total: 16

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

NBC local news wpxi.com on Foxfox.com – 1

Total: 1

Restaurants/Food

Coca-Cola Orange Vanilla us.coca-cola.com/flavors/ – 3
KFC kfc.com/ – 3
Pizza Hut pizzahut.com/ – 3
McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 3
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 2
Hooters hooters.com (Chase Elliott) – 1
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ (Dale Earnhardt Jr.) – 1
Outback outback.com – 1

Total: 17

Beer/Alcohol

Busch busch.com – 4

Total: 4

Car/Truck/Bike

Midas midas.com – 6
Ford ford.com – 5
Toyota toyota.com – 4
Chevy chevy.com – 3
Jiffy Lube jiffylube.com – 2
RamTrucks.com ramtrucks.com – 1
GoodYear goodyear.com (Dale Earnhardt Jr.) #MakeAName – 1
Jaguar – 1
Kwik Fill kwikfill.com/home/home.php – 1
Marathon Gas marathon.com – 1
Mercedes Benz Vans MBVans.com – 1
Buyatoyota.com buyatoyota.com – 1

Total: 27

Insurance/Health

Geico.com geico.com – 4
Progressive progressive.com – 2
Allstate allstate.com – 1

Total: 7

Financial

Ally Bank allybank.com – 2
USAA usaa.com/bank – 2

Total: 4

Legal

Finley Investigations finleyinvestigations.com – 2

Total: 2

Technology

Xfinity.com xfinity.com – 3
Ring.com ring.com – 2

Total: 5

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Gold Bond goldbond.com – 5
Allegra allegra.com – 3
Allegra D allegra.com – 2
Farxiga.com farxiga.com – 2
Levin’s levinfurniture.com – 1
Waste Management Careers careers.wm.com – 1

Total: 14

Political/Special Interest

D. Raja for PA State Senate joinraja.com/ – 1

Total: 1

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

3:30 PM – 3:33 PM – 3      3:33 PM – 3:36 PM – 3
3:36 PM – 3:41 PM – 5      3:41 PM – 3:44 PM – 3
3:44 PM – 3:53 PM – 9      3:53 PM – 3:55 PM – 2
3:55 PM – 4:00 PM – 5      4:00 PM – 4:02 PM – 2
4:02 PM – 4:07 PM – 5      4:07 PM – 4:10 PM – 3
4:10 PM – 4:25 PM – 15      4:25 PM – 4:27 PM – 2
4:27 PM – 4:31 PM – 4      4:31 PM – 4:34 PM – 3
4:34 PM – 4:37 PM – 3      4:37 PM – 4:39 PM – 2
4:39 PM – 4:48 PM – 9      4:48 PM – 4:50 PM – 2
4:50 PM – 4:56 PM – 6      4:56 PM – 4:58 PM – 2
4:58 PM – 5:15 PM – 17      5:15 PM – 5:17 PM – 2
5:17 PM – 5:21 PM – 4      5:21 PM – 5:23 PM – 2
5:23 PM – 5:26 PM – 3      5:26 PM – 5:29 PM – 3
5:29 PM – 5:37 PM – 8      5:37 PM – 5:40 PM – 3
5:40 PM – 5:44 PM – 4      5:44 PM – 5:47 PM – 3
5:47 PM – 6:04 PM – 17      6:04 PM – 6:06 PM – 2
6:06 PM – 6:23 PM – 17      6:23 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 134      Total comm. brdcst time: 39

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 20
(Monster Energy; Jimmy John’s; Kroger; Outback; Coca-Cola, Orange Vanilla Coke, @CocaColaRacing ; Chevy; Ford Performance, Ford Hall of Fans ford.com/nascar ; Toyota; GoodYear; Sunoco; Jiffy Lube; Geico; Progressive; Credit One Bank; Duracell; Ring.com; PCB on Fox PPV; ‘Race Day’ on Fox; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; upcoming Cup race)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

4:17 PM – 4:19 PM
Jiffy Lube, Chevy; Hooters9.com (Chase Elliott); Busch; MartinsvilleSpeedway.com NASCAR.com/tickets; Progressive; upcoming Cup race

5:06 PM – 5:08 PM
Geico; NASCAR.com/tickets; Busch; Hooters9.com (Chase Elliott); upcoming Cup race; PBC on Fox PPV

5:52 PM – 5:54 PM
Progressive; upcoming Cup race; Ram Trucks; PBC on Fox PPV; upcoming Xfinity race

6:13 PM – 6:15 PM
Toyota (Denny Hamlin); KFC; upcoming Cup race; Big East Conference on FS1; Jiffy Lube

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *