Commercial breakdown: 2019 Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500

Whether they are irritating interruptions, or chances for folks to run for more snacks, commercials are a reality for NASCAR fans on race day. For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown. Please note that due to high winds in southwestern Pennsylvania, there were two cable outages that affected this report, for a total of 12 minutes.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2019 Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 2:00 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 5:49 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 229
Minutes of race broadcast: 176
Minutes of traditional commercials: 53
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 9

Total number of commercials: 114
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 60
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 89
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 53
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 25
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 17
Number of times Fox utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 4

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

‘Big Bang Theory’ and ‘2½ Men’ – 2
The Masked Singer fox.com/the-masked-singer/ – 1
Mental Samurai fox.com/mental-samurai/ – 1
Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 1
Soccer on Fox Sports foxsports.com/soccer – 1
‘Maury’, ‘2½ Men’, ‘Big Bang Theory’ – 1
‘911’ fox.com/9-1-1 on Fox – 1
Premier Boxing premierboxingchampions.com on FoxSports – 1

Total:   9

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

NBC local news wpxi.com on Foxfox.com – 1
Ron Lewis Automotive ronlewisautomotive.com – 1

Total:   2

Restaurants/Food

Coke Zero Sugar us.coca-cola.com/zero-sugar – 3
KFC kfc.com/ – 3
McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 3
Pizza Hut pizzahut.com/ – 3
Outback outback.com – 2
diet Dr. Pepper drpepper.com – 2
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 1
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ (Dale Earnhardt Jr.) – 1
Wing Stop wingstop.com – 1

Total:   19

Beer/Alcohol

Busch busch.com – 1

Total:  1

Car/Truck/Bike

Chevy chevy.com – 7
Ford ford.com – 4
Jiffy Lube jiffylube.com – 4
Toyota toyota.com – 2
Kwik Fill kwikfill.com/home/home.php – 2
Mercedes Benz Vans MBVans.com – 2
Alfa Romeo alfaromeousa.com/ – 1
BMWUSA.com bmwusa.com – 1
RamTrucks.com ramtrucks.com – 1
Jaguar – 1
Marathon Gas marathon.com – 1
Sunoco sunocoinc.com – 1

Total:  27

Insurance/Health

Allstate allstate.com – 2
Geico.com geico.com – 2
Progressive progressive.com – 2

Total:  6

Home Improvement

Kioti tractors kioti.com – 1

Total:  1

Financial

USAA.com/banking usaa.com/banking – 2
Ally Bank allybank.com – 1
Turbo Tax turbotax.com – 1

Total:  4

Technology

Amazon Echo amazon.com/echo – 1
Ring.com ring.com – 1

Total:  2

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Entresto.com entresto.com – 2
Farxiga.com farxiga.com – 2
Humira humira.com – 2
Icy Hot icyhot.com – 2
Selsun Blue selsunblue.com – 2
SaveonSymbicort.com saveonsymbicort.com – 2
Allegra allegra.com – 1
Dulcolax dulcolax.com – 1
Keytruda keytruda.com – 1
Unisom unisom.com – 1
Waste Management Careers careers.wm.com – 1
Xyzal xyzal.com – 1

Total:  18

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

2:00 PM – 2:03 PM – 3      2:03 PM – 2:05 PM – 2
2:05 PM – 2:10 PM – 5      2:10 PM – 2:15 PM – 5
!! CABLE OUTAGE: 2:10 PM – 2:15 PM !!
2:15 PM – 2:24 PM – 9      2:24 PM – 2:26 PM – 2
2:26 PM – 2:31 PM – 5      2:31 PM – 2:33 PM – 2
2:33 PM – 2:41 PM – 8      2:41 PM – 2:44 PM – 3
2:44 PM – 2:52 PM – 8      2:52 PM – 2:54 PM – 2
2:54 PM – 3:10 PM – 16      3:10 PM – 3:12 PM – 2
3:12 PM – 3:15 PM – 3      3:15 PM – 3:18 PM – 3
3:18 PM – 3:26 PM – 8      3:26 PM – 3:29 PM – 3
3:29 PM – 3:34 PM – 5       3:34 PM – 3:36 PM – 2
3:36 PM – 3:41 PM – 5      3:41 PM – 3:44 PM – 3
3:44 PM – 3:50 PM – 6      3:50 PM – 3:53 PM – 3
3:53 PM – 4:03 PM – 10      4:03 PM – 4:06 PM – 3
4:06 PM – 4:09 PM – 3      4:09 PM – 4:12 PM – 3
4:12 PM – 4:21 PM – 9      4:21 PM – 4:24 PM – 3
4:24 PM – 4:27 PM – 3      4:27 PM – 4:30 PM – 3
4:30 PM – 4:42 PM – 12      4:42 PM – 4:44 PM – 2
4:44 PM – 4:52 PM – 8      4:52 PM – 4:59 PM – 7
!! CABLE OUTAGE: 4:52 PM – 4:59 PM !!
4:59 PM – 5:49 PM – 50      5:49 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 176      Total comm. brdcst time: 53

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 18
(Monster Energy; Pizza Hut; McDonald’s; Kroger.com; Coca-Cola, Coke Zero Sugar; Chevy, ChevyDealer.com ; Ford Performance, Ford Hall of Fame ford.com/nascar ; Toyota, TRD; Dodge Ram Trucks; Sunoco; GoodYear; Ally Bank; Credit One Bank; Duracell; Comcast Xfinity; PBC on Fox PPV; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; upcoming Cup race on Fox)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Tha

Commercials during race broadcast:  ‘Side-by-Side’  (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

3:01 PM – 3:04 PM
Toyota (Denny Hamlin); ISMRaceway.com; Busch Beer; Jiffy Lube; Hooters9.com (Chase Elliott); Big East Conference on FS1; upcoming Xfinity race

3:57 PM – 3:59 PM
Progressive; upcoming Cup race on Fox; Ram Trucks; Busch Beer; Hooters9.com (Chase Elliott); upcoming Gander Outdoors Truck Series race

5:03 PM – 5:05 PM
Progressive; LVMS.com; Jiffy Lube; Hooters9.com (Chase Elliott); Toyota (Denny Hamlin); upcoming Cup race

5:35 PM – 5:37 PM
Chevy; NASCAR.com; Hooters9.com (Chase Elliott); Geico; PBC PPV; upcoming Cup race

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *