Commercial breakdown: 2019 Daytona 500

Whether they are irritating interruptions, or chances for folks to run for more snacks, commercials are a reality for NASCAR fans on race day.  For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2019 Daytona 500

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 2:45 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 7:33 PM

Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 288
Minutes of race broadcast: 233
Minutes of traditional commercials: 55
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 11
Number of missed restarts: 0
Number of ‘mystery cautions’ (debris not shown): 0

Total number of commercials: 137
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 59
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 113
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 50
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 24
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 19
Number of times Fox utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 5

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1/TV

PBC World Welterweight Championship on Fox Sports – 3
Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 2
‘Big Bang Theory’ and ‘2½ Men’ – 1
Golf on Foxfoxsports.com/golf – 1
‘Maury’, ‘2½ Men’, ‘Big Bang Theory’ – 1
’24 Hours To Hell & Back’ fox.com/gordon-ramsays-24-hours-to-hell-back/ on Fox – 1

Total: 9

Movies

‘Captain Marvel’ marvel.com/captainmarvel – 1
‘Fighting With My Family’ facebook.com/fightingwithmyfamily – 1

Total:  2

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

NBC local news wpxi.com on Foxfox.com – 2
PA Lottery palottery.state.pa.us/ – 1

Total: 3

Restaurants/Food

Coke Zero Sugar us.coca-cola.com/zero-sugar – 6
Pizza Hut pizzahut.com/ – 5
KFC kfc.com/ – 4
McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 4
diet Dr. Pepper drpepper.com – 2
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 1
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ (Dale Earnhardt Jr.) – 1

Total: 23

Beer/Alcohol

Budweiser budweiser.com – 2
Busch busch.com – 2
Twisted Tea twistedtea.com – 1

Total: 5

Car/Truck/Bike

Ford ford.com – 6
GoodYear goodyear.com (Dale Earnhardt Jr.) #MakeAName – 4
Chevy chevy.com – 4
RamTrucks.com ramtrucks.com – 4
Toyota toyota.com – 4
CarFax.com carfax.com – 3
Chevy chevy.com – 2
ChevyDealer.com chevydealer.com – 1
Jiffy Lube jiffylube.com – 1
Mercedes Benz Vans MBVans.com – 1
Sunoco sunocoinc.com – 1
Buyatoyota.com buyatoyota.com – 1
Toyota toyota.com (Denny Hamlin) – 1

Total: 33

Insurance/Health

Geico.com geico.com – 4
Allstate allstate.com – 2
Progressive progressive.com – 2
UPMCHealthPlan.com/medicare upmchealthplan.com/medicare – 1

Total: 9

Financial

Capital One capitalone.com – 2
Turbo Tax turbotax.com – 2
USAA usaa.com/bank – 1
Ally Bank allybank.com – 1

Total: 6

Legal

Edgar Snyder edgarsnyder.com – 1

Total: 1

Technology

Verizon/GetFios verizon.com/getfios – 2
Red Dead Redemption II rockstargames.com/reddeadredemption2/ – 1
Xfinity.com xfinity.com – 1

Total: 4

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Old Spice oldspice.com – 3
SaveonSymbicort.com saveonsymbicort.com – 3
Unisom unisom.com – 3
Get Roman getroman.com/tv – 2
Nasacort nasacort.com – 2
Farxiga.com farxiga.com – 1
Keytruda keytruda.com – 1
Xeljanz Xeljanz.com – 1
ZantacOTC.com zantacotc.com – 1
Pearle Vision pearlevision.com – 1

Total: 18

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 31

(Monster Energy; VetTix.org vettix.org ; Pizza Hut; McDonald’s; KFC; Hooter’s; Kroger; Coca-Cola, Coke Zero Sugar, @cocacolaracing ; Busch Beer, #car2can #BuschContest ; Chevy; Ford; Toyota, JDGibbsLegacy.com ; Sunoco; GoodYear; Midas; Geico; Nationwide; Progressive; Bass Pro Shops & Cabela’s; Ally Bank; Credit One Bank; Duracell; Symbicort; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; ‘The Simpsons’ & ‘Fighting With My Family’; WWE Smackdown on Fox; ‘The Masked Singer’ on Fox; upcoming Xfinity race; upcoming Cup race)

Race brdcast times:           Comm. brdcast times:

2:45 PM – 2:48 PM – 3        2:48 PM – 2:51 PM – 3
2:51 PM – 2:58 PM – 7          2:58 PM – 3:00 PM – 2
3:00 PM – 3:16 PM – 16      3:16 PM – 3:19 PM – 3
3:19 PM – 3:27 PM – 8         3:27 PM – 3:30 PM – 3
3:30 PM – 3:35 PM – 5         3:35 PM – 3:37 PM – 2
3:37 PM – 3:41 PM – 4         3:41 PM – 3:44 PM – 3
3:44 PM – 3:48 PM – 4         3:48 PM – 3:50 PM – 2
3:50 PM – 3:54 PM – 4         3:54 PM – 3:57 PM – 3
3:57 PM – 4:03 PM – 6         4:03 PM – 4:06 PM – 3
4:06 PM – 4:07 PM – 1         4:07 PM – 4:09 PM – 2
4:09 PM – 4:26 PM – 17      4:26 PM – 4:29 PM – 3
4:29 PM – 4:48 PM – 19      4:48 PM – 4:50 PM – 2
4:50 PM – 5:00 PM – 10        5:00 PM – 5:03 PM – 3
5:03 PM – 5:05 PM – 2        5:05 PM – 5:07 PM – 2
5:07 PM – 5:17 PM – 10       5:17 PM – 5:20 PM – 3
5:20 PM – 5:23 PM – 3        5:23 PM – 5:25 PM – 2
5:25 PM – 5:38 PM – 13      5:38 PM – 5:40 PM – 2
5:40 PM – 5:44 PM – 4        5:44 PM – 5:46 PM – 2
5:46 PM – 6:09 PM – 23      6:09 PM – 6:11 PM – 2
6:11 PM – 6:26 PM – 15      6:26 PM – 6:28 PM – 2
6:28 PM – 6:51 PM – 23      6:51 PM – 6:53 PM – 2
6:53 PM – 7:13 PM – 20       7:13 PM – 7:15 PM – 2
7:15 PM – 7:23 PM – 8        7:23 PM – 7:25 PM – 2
7:25 PM – 7:33 PM – 8         7:33 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 233      Total comm. brdcst time: 55

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

4:17 PM – 4:19 PM
Progressive; upcoming Cup race on Fox Sports; Pizza Hut; Jiffy Lube; Ram Trucks; Las Vegas Motor Speedway; ‘The Passage’ on Fox

4:34 PM – 4:36 PM
Geico; upcoming Cup race; Toyota; ‘The Masked Singer’ on Fox; Xfinity series race on Fox

5:13 PM – 5:14 PM
Toyota Supra

5:28 PM – 5:31 PM
Toyota; TalladegaSuperspeedway.com ; Outback; Ring.com ; FoxNation.com ; Gander Outdoors Truck Series

5:59 PM – 6:02 PM
Ram Trucks; ISMRaceway.com ; Progressive; Soccer on Fox; upcoming Cup race

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *