Commercial breakdown: 2019 Auto Club 400

Whether they are irritating interruptions, or chances for folks to run for more snacks, commercials are a reality for NASCAR fans on race day. For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2019 Auto Club 400

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 3:30 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 6:39 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 189
Minutes of race broadcast: 148
Minutes of traditional commercials: 41
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 8

Total number of commercials: 121
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 55
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 98
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 52
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 23
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 14
Number of times Fox utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 4

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast:  Midas (8 times); Ford (6 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

‘Lock it In’ fox.com/lock-it-in/ – 2
Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 2
Boxing on Fox Sports foxsports.com/boxing – 2
‘Seinfeld’ & ‘Last One Standing’ – 1
Bowling on Fox Sports FoxSports.com/bowling – 1
‘Big Bang Theory’ and ‘2½ Men’ – 1
Fox Sunday: ‘Bob’s Burgers’ fox.com/bobsburgers and ‘Family Guy’ familyguy.com and ‘The Simpsons’ thesimpsons.com – 1
‘Maury’, ‘2½ Men’, ‘Big Bang Theory’ – 1
‘Mental Samurai’ fox.com/mental-samurai/ – 1
‘Race Hub’ foxsports.com/nascar/racehub – 1
‘The Resident’ fox.com/the-resident – 1
‘Sean Hannity’ foxnews.com/shows/Hannity – 1
US Open Golf on Fox foxsports.com/golf – 1

Total: 16

Movies

‘Shazam’ shazammovie.com – 1

Total: 1

Restaurants/Food

Coca-Cola Orange Vanilla us.coca-cola.com/flavors/ – 4
Applebees applebees.com – 3
Pizza Hut pizzahut.com/ – 3
KFC kfc.com/ – 2
McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 2
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 2
Hooters hooters9.com (Chase Elliott) – 1

Total: 17

Beer/Alcohol

Busch busch.com – 4

Total: 4

Car/Truck/Bike

Midas midas.com – 8
Ford ford.com – 6
Toyota toyota.com – 3
Chevy chevy.com – 3
AAA.com/DontDriveDistracted aaa.com/dontdrivedistracted – 2
Jeep jeep.com – 2
RamTrucks.com ramtrucks.com – 1
GoodYear goodyear.com (Dale Earnhardt Jr.) #MakeAName – 1
ShopHonda.com shophonda.com – 1
Marathon Gas marathon.com – 1
Mercedes Benz Vans MBVans.com – 1
ChooseNissan.com choosenissan.com – 1

Total: 30

Insurance/Health

Geico.com geico.com – 4
Allstate allstate.com – 2
Progressive progressive.com – 1

Total: 7

Home Improvement

Kioti tractors kioti.com – 1

Total: 1

Financial

Ally Bank allybank.com – 1
USAA usaa.com/bank – 1

Total: 2

Technology

Ring.com ring.com – 1

Total: 1

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use
Nasacort nasacort.com – 3
Entresto.com entresto.com – 2
Farxiga.com farxiga.com – 2
Icy Hot icyhot.com – 2
SaveonSymbicort.com saveonsymbicort.com – 2
ACT mouthwash actflouride.com – 1
Get Roman getroman.com/tv – 1
Gold Bond goldbond.com – 1
Selsun Blue selsunblue.com – 1
ZantacOTC.com zantacotc.com – 1

Total: 16

Political/Special Interest

D. Raja for PA State Senate joinraja.com/ – 2

Total: 2

Racing Related

NASCAR.com/tickets nascar.com/tickets – 1

Total: 1

Race brdcast times: Comm. brdcast times:

3:30 PM – 3:33 PM – 3      3:33 PM – 3:36 PM – 3
3:36 PM – 3:42 PM – 6      3:42 PM – 3:44 PM – 2
3:44 PM – 3:58 PM – 14      3:58 PM – 4:00 PM – 2
4:00 PM – 4:05 PM – 5      4:05 PM – 4:07 PM – 2
4:07 PM – 4:16 PM – 9      4:16 PM – 4:18 PM – 2
4:18 PM – 4:23 PM – 5      4:23 PM – 4:25 PM – 2
4:25 PM – 4:39 PM – 14      4:39 PM – 4:42 PM – 3
4:42 PM – 4:47 PM – 5      4:47 PM – 4:50 PM – 3
4:50 PM – 4:58 PM – 8       4:58 PM – 5:01 PM – 3
5:01 PM – 5:05 PM – 4      5:05 PM – 5:08 PM – 3
5:08 PM – 5:14 PM – 6      5:14 PM – 5:17 PM – 3
5:17 PM – 5:30 PM – 13      5:30 PM – 5:32 PM – 2
5:32 PM – 5:36 PM – 4      5:36 PM – 5:39 PM – 3
5:39 PM – 5:46 PM – 7      5:46 PM – 5:49 PM – 3
5:49 PM – 5:54 PM – 5      5:54 PM – 5:57 PM – 3
5:57 PM – 6:02 PM – 5      6:02 PM – 6:04 PM – 2
6:04 PM – 6:39 PM – 35      6:39 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 148    Total comm. brdcst time: 41

Number of companies featured during broadcast:  23
(Monster Energy; Kroger; Jimmy John’s; Outback; Hooters; Coca-Cola, Orange Vanilla Coca-Cola; Chevy; Ford Performance, Ford Hall of Fans ford.com/nascar ; Toyota, TRD; Sunoco; GoodYear; Geico; Nationwide; Progressive; Liberty National Life Insurance; Ally Bank; Credit One Bank; Duracell; Xfinity; PBC on FS1; WWE on Fox Sports; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; upcoming Cup race)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

4:28 PM – 4:30 PM
Progressive; TexasMotorSpeedway.com NASCAR.com/Tickets; KFC; Chevy; PBC on FS1; upcoming Cup race

5:22 PM – 5:24 PM
Toyota; GetRoman.com/nascar ; upcoming Cup race; Baseball on FS1; NASCAR.com/Tickets

6:12 PM – 6:14 PM
Geico; Jeep; BristolTix.com NASCAR.com/Tickets ; Busch Beer; KFC; Gander Outdoor Truck Series upcoming race

6:24 PM – 6:26 PM
Progressive; Chevy; NASCAR.com/Tickets; Baseball on FS1; Busch Beer; upcoming Cup race

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *