Commercial breakdown: 2020 Daytona 500

The big race finally arrived, race fans! As you all know, that means the commercials did, too. Whether they are irritating interruptions, or chances for folks to run for more snacks, advertisements are a reality for NASCAR fans on race day. For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2020 Daytona 500

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 2:51 PM
Stop for rain delay: 4:40 PM
Restart on Monday: 4:15 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 7:49 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 323
Minutes of race broadcast: 269
Minutes of traditional commercials: 54
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 10

Total number of commercials: 138
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 64
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 115
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 60
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 23
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 20
Number of times Fox utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 4

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: Chevy (6 times); Ford (6 times); Coca-Cola (5 times); Outback (5 times); Pizza Hut (5 times); Busch Beer (5 times); USAA (5 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

XFL on Fox foxsports.com/xfl – 2
Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 1
Upcoming Xfinity race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 1
Boxing on Fox Sports foxsports.com/boxing – 1
‘Big Bang Theory’ and ‘2½ Men’ – 1
Fox Nation nation.foxnews.com/featured/ – 1
‘911 Lone Star’ fox.com/9-1-1-lone-star – 1
‘Seinfeld’ – 1
‘WWE Smackdown’ fox.com/WWE-Friday-night-smackdown – 1

Total: 10

Movies

‘Onward’ movies.Disney.com/onward – 2
‘The Way Back’ thewayback-movie.com/ – 1

Total: 3

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

NBC local news wpxi.com on Foxfox.com – 2
A Comfort Service acomfortservice.com – 1
BetRivers.com – 1
Cochran Hyundai Pittsburgh cochranhyundaipittsburgh.com and Cochran Hyundai Monroeville cochranhyundaimonroeville.com – 1
The Clairvoyants @thommyandamelie at Rivers Casino riverscasino.com/pittsburgh/entertainment-2/the-clairvoyants – 1

Total: 6

Restaurants/Food

Coca-Cola Energy drink us.coca-cola.com/energy/ – 4
Outback outback.com –  4
Pizza Hut pizzahut.com/ – 4
KFC kfc.com/ – 3
Red Bull redbull.com – 2
Little Caesars littlecaesars.com – 2
McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 2
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 2
Arby’s arbys.com – 1
Pure Protein pureprotein.com – 1
Wendy’s wendys.com – 1

Total: 26

Beer/Alcohol

Budweiser budweiser.com – 2
Busch busch.com #PIT4BUSCH #sweepstakes (Kevin Harvick) – 2
Busch busch.com – 1

Total: 5

Car/Truck/Bike

Chevy chevy.com – 5
Ford ford.com – 5
Ram Trucks ram.com – 4
GoodYear goodyear.com – 2
Jiffy Lube jiffylube.com – 2
ChooseNissan.com choosenissan.com – 2
Toyota toyota.com – 2
WeatherTech.com weathertech.com – 1
ShopHonda.com shophonda.com – 1

Total: 24

Insurance/Health

USAA.com/insurance usaa.com/insurance – 4
Progressive progressive.com – 4
Geico.com geico.com – 3
SafeAuto safeauto.com – 1
UPMCHealthPlan.com upmchealthplan.com – 1

Total: 13

Wireless Phone

Verizon verizon.com/ #5GBuiltRight – 1

Total: 1

Financial

Ally Bank allybank.com (Jimmie Johnson) #OneFinalTime – 1
Turbo Tax turbotax.com – 1
USAA usaa.com/bank – 1

Total: 3

Legal

Edgar Snyder edgarsnyder.com – 1

Total: 1

Technology

IBM Cloud ibm.com/cloud – 2
SimpliSafe.com simplisafe.com – 2
Xfinity X1 xfinity.com/x1 – 1
Amazon Fire TV amazon.com/fire-tv – 1

Total: 6

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

SaveonSymbicort.com saveonsymbicort.com – 3
Target target.com – 2
Aspercreme aspercreme.com – 1
Entresto.com entresto.com – 1
Osteo Bi-Flex osteobiflex.com – 1
Xyzal xyzal.com – 1

Total: 9

Political/Special Interest

Mike Bloomberg mikebloomberg.com – 3

Total: 3

Racing Related

NASCAR.com/tickets nascar.com/tickets – 3
Auto Club Speedway autoclubspeedway.com/ – 1
Phoenix Raceway phoenixraceway.com – 1

Total: 5

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

2:51 PM – 2:57 PM – 6      2:57 PM – 3:00 PM – 3
3:00 PM – 3:08 PM – 8      3:08 PM – 3:10 PM – 2
3:10 PM – 3:32 PM – 22      3:32 PM – 3:34 PM – 2
3:34 PM – 4:25 PM – 51      4:25 PM – 4:28 PM – 3
4:28 PM – 4:33 PM – 5      4:33 PM – 4:36 PM – 3
4:36 PM – 4:37 PM – 1      4:37 PM – 4:40 PM – 3

—————— Rain Delay ———————–

4:15 PM – 4:22 PM – 7      4:22 PM – 4:24 PM – 2
4:24 PM – 4:29 PM – 5      4:29 PM – 4:31 PM – 2
4:31 PM – 4:44 PM – 13      4:44 PM – 4:46 PM – 2
4:46 PM – 4:55 PM – 9      4:55 PM – 4:57 PM – 2
4:57 PM – 4:59 PM – 2      4:59 PM – 5:02 PM – 3
5:02 PM – 5:07 PM – 5      5:07 PM – 5:10 PM – 3
5:10 PM – 5:14 PM – 4      5:14 PM – 5:16 PM – 2
5:16 PM – 5:21 PM – 5       5:21 PM – 5:24 PM – 3
5:24 PM – 5:38 PM – 14      5:38 PM – 5:40 PM – 2
5:40 PM – 5:54 PM – 14      5:54 PM – 5:56 PM – 2
5:56 PM – 5:59 PM – 3      5:59 PM – 6:01 PM – 2
6:01 PM – 6:13 PM – 12      6:13 PM – 6:16 PM – 3
6:16 PM – 6:20 PM – 4      6:20 PM – 6:23 PM – 3
6:23 PM – 6:51 PM – 28      6:51 PM – 6:53 PM – 2
6:53 PM – 6:58 PM – 5      6:58 PM – 7:01 PM – 3
7:01 PM – 7:12 PM – 11      7:12 PM – 7:14 PM – 2
7:14 PM – 7:49 PM – 35      7:49 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 269      Total comm. brdcst time: 54

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 23
(Monster Energy; Wendy’s; Pizza Hut; Coca-Cola @cocacolaracing ; Busch Light #Pit4Busch #sweepstakes ; Chevy; Ford Performance; Toyota; Dodge Ram; GoodYear; Geico; Progressive; USAA; Advent Health; Credit One Bank; Xfinity; Boxing on Fox Sports; XFL on Fox Sports; ‘WWE Smackdown’ on Fox; ‘911 Lone Star’, ‘Prodigal Son’ on Fox; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; upcoming Cup race)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

4:37 PM – 4:39 PM
Chevy; Busch Beer, Coca-Cola, Geico, Xfinity, NASCAR.com/Tickets; Liberty Mutual; Busch Beer #Pit4Busch #sweepstakes ; Jiffy Lube; WWE Smackdown on Fox

5:32 PM – 5:35 PM
Geico/sequels; Jiffy Lube; Busch Beer @buschbeer #Pit4Busch #sweepstakes ; Boxing on Fox Sports; NASCAR.com/Tickets; Chevy

5:44 PM – 5:47 PM
Toyota; Progressive; Outback; Gander Mountain Outdoors Truck Series NASCAR.com/Trucks; ‘Trump – Pence 2020’ text Trump45 to 88022

6:36 PM – 6:38 PM
Ford; Pizza Hut; ‘The Masked Singer’ and ‘Lego Masters’ on Fox; Liberty Mutual; XFL on Fox Sports; Boxing on Fox Sports