Commercial breakdown: 2020 Pennzoil 400 presented by Jiffy Lube

Earlier this past weekend the rains in the desert bedeviled qualifying and the other series.  However, Sunday experienced evil-free weather for racing. Fans were thankful the Cup race ran as scheduled, but that meant the ads did, too. Whether they are irritating interruptions, or chances for folks to run for more snacks, commercials are a reality for NASCAR fans on race day. For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2020 Pennzoil 400 presented by Jiffy Lube

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 3:30 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 6:46 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 196
Minutes of race broadcast: 153
Minutes of traditional commercials: 43
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 10

Total number of commercials: 129
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 57
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 106
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 51
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 23
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 18
Number of times Fox utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 4

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: Pennzoil Jiffy Lube (7 times); Busch Beer (6 times); Ford (5 times); Ram Trucks (5 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

‘WWE Smackdown’ fox.com/WWE-Friday-night-smackdown – 2
XFL on Fox foxsports.com/xfl – 2
Boxing on Fox Sports foxsports.com/boxing – 2
‘Seinfeld’ & ‘Last Man Standing’ – 2
Upcoming Xfinity race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 1
Big East Conference on Fox foxsports.com/college-basketball – 1
‘Big Bang Theory’ and ‘2½ Men’ – 1
‘Deputy’ fox.com/deputy – 1
Fox News foxnews.com – 1
‘The Masked Singer’ fox.com/the-masked-singer/ and ‘Lego Masters’ fox.com/lego-masters – 1
‘911 Lone Star’ fox.com/9-1-1-lone-star – 1
US Open Golf on Fox foxsports.com/golf – 1

Total: 16

Movies

‘The Way Back’ thewayback-movie.com/ – 1

Total: 1

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

NBC local news wpxi.com on Foxfox.com – 1
A Comfort Service acomfortservice.com – 1
KeystoneShootingCenter.com keystoneshootingcenter.com – 1

Total: 3

Restaurants/Food

Little Caesars littlecaesars.com – 3
McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 3
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 3
Pizza Hut pizzahut.com/ – 3
Coca-Cola Energy drink us.coca-cola.com/energy/ – 2
Five Hour Energy Drink fivehour.com #5HEwin – 2
KFC kfc.com/ – 2
Wendy’s wendys.com – 1

Total: 20

Beer/Alcohol

Busch busch.com – 6

Total: 6

Car/Truck/Bike

Pennzoil Jiffy Lube Jiffy Lube jiffylube.com – 7
Ram Trucks ram.com – 5
Ford ford.com – 4
GoodYear goodyear.com – 3
ChooseNissan.com choosenissan.com – 2
Toyota toyota.com – 2
Chevy chevy.com – 1
GMCDealer.com gmcdealer.com – 1
Toyota toyota.com (Kyle Busch) – 1
WeatherTech.com weathertech.com – 1

Total: 27

Insurance/Health

USAA.com/insurance usaa.com/insurance – 3
Geico.com geico.com – 2
Liberty Mutual libertymutual.com – 1
Progressive progressive.com – 1
SafeAuto safeauto.com – 1

Total: 8

Financial

Ally Bank allybank.com (Jimmie Johnson) #OneFinalTime – 3

Total: 3

Legal

Edgar Snyder edgarsnyder.com – 1

Total: 1

Technology

Xfinity/NASCAR xfinity.com/nascar – 3
Comcast Business comcast.com/business – 1
Xfinity.com xfinity.com – 1
Xfinity X1 xfinity.com/x1 – 1

Total: 6

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Allegra allegra.com – 2
SaveonSymbicort.com saveonsymbicort.com – 2
Entresto.com entresto.com – 2
Mattress Firm mattressfirm.com – 2
Allegra D allegra.com – 1
Icy Hot icyhot.com – 1
Nutrisystem.com nutrisystem.com – 1

Total: 11

Racing Related

NASCAR.com/tickets nascar.com/tickets – 4

Total: 4

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

3:30 PM – 3:32 PM – 2      3:32 PM – 3:36 PM – 4
3:36 PM – 3:41 PM – 5      3:41 PM – 3:43 PM – 2
3:43 PM – 3:50 PM – 7      3:50 PM – 3:52 PM – 2
3:52 PM – 3:59 PM – 7      3:59 PM – 4:01 PM – 2
4:01 PM – 4:07 PM – 6      4:07 PM – 4:10 PM – 3
4:10 PM – 4:16 PM – 6      4:16 PM – 4:19 PM – 3
4:19 PM – 4:24 PM – 5      4:24 PM – 4:27 PM – 3
4:27 PM – 4:38 PM – 11      4:38 PM – 4:41 PM – 3
4:41 PM – 4:43 PM – 2      4:43 PM – 4:45 PM – 2
4:45 PM – 4:54 PM – 9      4:54 PM – 4:57 PM – 3
4:57 PM – 5:01 PM – 4      5:01 PM – 5:03 PM – 2
5:03 PM – 5:10 PM – 7      5:10 PM – 5:12 PM – 2
5:12 PM – 5:27 PM – 15      5:27 PM – 5:30 PM – 3
5:30 PM – 5:33 PM – 3      5:33 PM – 5:36 PM – 3
5:36 PM – 5:38 PM – 2      5:38 PM – 5:41 PM – 3
5:41 PM – 5:48 PM – 7       5:48 PM – 5:51 PM – 3
5:51 PM – 6:46 PM – 55      6:46 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 153      Total comm. brdcst time: 43

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 25
(Pennzoil; Jiffy Lube; Monster Energy; Fox Sports Super 6 app; KFC; Pizza Hut; Coca-Cola, Coca-Cola Energy drink; Busch Light; Chevy; Ford Performance; Toyota, TRD; Ram Trucks; GoodYear; Geico; Progressive; USAA; Credit One Bank; Ally Bank; Xinfity; Big East Conference on FS1; XFL on FS1; WWE Smackdown on Fox; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; Xfinity Series race on FS1; upcoming Cup race)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

4:31 PM – 4:33 PM
Toyota; Progressive; Busch Beer, Coca-Cola, Geico; Xfinity, NASCAR.com/Tickets; Jiffy Lube; Outback; Gander Outdoors truck series NASCAR.com/trucks

5:18 PM – 5:21 PM
Chevy; AtlantaMotorSpeedway.com NASCAR.com/tickets; Geico; NASCAR.com/Tickets; WWE Smackdown on Fox

6:01 PM – 6:03 PM
Liberty Mutual; Chevy; Pennzoil Jiffy Lube; Outback; ‘Duncanville’ on Fox; Gander Outdoors truck series NASCAR.com/trucks

6:27 PM – 6:30 PM
Ford; Pizza Hut; Mountain Dew; WWE Smackdown on Fox; Progressive