Commercial breakdown: 2021 GoodYear 400

On Sunday, the NASCAR Cup Series was at Darlington, a track rich with racing history. The folks at Fox Sports deemed it a ‘throwback race’, to showcase NASCAR roots, and to have a bit of fun. Smokey Robinson did a rendition of the National Anthem that was the bee’s knees, the announcers wore fab leisure suits, and the cars’ paint schemes were dreamy. For those who watched the broadcast that might like to throwback some of the commercials, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2021 GoodYear 400

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 3:24 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 6:59 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 215
Minutes of race broadcast: 179
Minutes of traditional commercials: 36
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 8

Total number of commercials: 112
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 56
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 92
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 53
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 20
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 16
Number of times FS1 utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 4

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: Xfinity (10 times); Geico (7 times); Coca-Cola (5 times); Toyota (5 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

‘Crime Scene Kitchen’ on Fox fox.com/crime-scene-kitchen – 2
Upcoming Xfinity race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar NASCAR.com/Tickets – 2
Upcoming Camping World Truck race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar NASCAR.com/Tickets – 2
TSL Football thespringleague.com on Fox – 1
Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar ; Coca-Cola, Geico, Xfinity, Busch Beer, NASCAR.com/tickets – 1
NFL on FS1 – 1
Baseball on Fox Sports foxsports.com/mlb – 1
Bowling on Fox Sports FoxSports.com/bowling – 1
‘Lego Masters’ fox.com/lego-masters – 1

Total: 12

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

C Harper Chevy CHarperChevy.com – 1

Total: 1

Restaurants/Food

McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 4
Wendy’s wendys.com – 3
Coca-Cola cocacola.com – 2
diet Dr. Pepper drpepper.com – 2
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 2
Subway Subway.com – 2
Little Caesars littlecaesars.com – 1

Total: 16

Beer/Alcohol

Budweiser budweiser.com – 3
Stella Artois stellaartois.com – 2
Jack Daniels jackdaniels.com – 1

Total: 6

Car/Truck/Bike

Ford ford.com – 3
Ram Trucks ram.com – 2
GoodYear goodyear.com – 2
WeatherTech.com weathertech.com – 2
Advance Auto advanceautoparts.com – 2
Chevy chevy.com – 1
Mother’s CMX Car Care mothers.com – 1
NTB.com ntb.com – 1
Buyatoyota.com buyatoyota.com – 1
Toyota toyota.com – 1
Toyota toyota.com (Kyle Busch) – 1
Toyota toyota.com (Bubba Wallace) – 1

Total: 18

Insurance/Health

Geico.com geico.com – 3
USAA.com usaa.com – 3
Liberty Mutual libertymutual.com – 2
Progressive progressive.com – 2
TakeonPD.com – 2

Total: 12

Wireless Phone

T-Mobile t-mobile.com/ – 4
Cricket Wireless cricketwireless.com – 1
Xfinity Mobile xfinitymobile.com – 1

Total: 6

Home Improvement

BioAdvanced bioadvanced.com – 1
Mahindra mahindrausa.com – 1

Total: 2

Financial

Acorn app acorns.com – 1
Ally Bank allybank.com (Alex Bowman) – 1
Credible.com – 1

Total: 3

Legal

BordasLaw.com bordaslaw.com – 1

Total: 1

Technology

Xfinity.com xfinity.com – 3
IBM ibm.com – 2
Amazon amazon.com – 1

Total: 6

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Allegra allegra.com – 1
Cortizone-10 corizone10.com – 1
Rybelsus.com – 1

Total: 3

Travel

Ark Encounter arkencounter.com – 2

Total: 2

Shipping

USPS usps.com – 2

Total: 2

Racing Related

Charlotte Motor Speedway charlottemotorspeedway.com – 1
SonomaRaceway.com sonomaraceway.com – 1

Total: 2

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

3:24 PM – 3:27 PM – 3      3:27 PM – 3:30 PM –3
3:30 PM – 3:34 PM – 4      3:34 PM – 3:36 PM – 2
3:36 PM – 3:50 PM – 14      3:50 PM – 3:53 PM – 3
3:53 PM – 4:06 PM – 13      4:06 PM – 4:08 PM – 2
4:08 PM – 4:16 PM – 8      4:16 PM – 4:18 PM – 2
4:18 PM – 4:25 PM – 7      4:25 PM – 4:27 PM – 2
4:27 PM – 4:44 PM – 17      4:44 PM – 4:47 PM – 3
4:47 PM – 4:49 PM – 2      4:49 PM – 4:52 PM – 3
4:52 PM – 4:58 PM – 6      4:58 PM – 5:00 PM – 2
5:00 PM – 5:07 PM – 7      5:07 PM – 5:09 PM – 2
5:09 PM – 5:23 PM – 14      5:23 PM – 5:26 PM – 3
5:26 PM – 5:53 PM – 27      5:53 PM – 5:56 PM – 3
5:56 PM – 6:00 PM – 4      6:00 PM – 6:02 PM – 2
6:02 PM – 6:11 PM – 9      6:11 PM – 6:13 PM – 2
6:13 PM – 6:19 PM – 6      6:19 PM – 6:21 PM – 2
6:21 PM – 6:59 PM – 38      6:59 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 179      Total comm. brdcst time: 36

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 24
(GoodYear; Monster Energy; Fox Sports Bet Super 6 app, Clint’s Second Stage Contest; NASCAR.com/VAX vaccines.gov ; Hunt Bros. Pizza; KFC; Subway; Applebee’s; Coca-Cola; Busch Beer; Ford Performance; Toyota; Ram Trucks; Geico; USAA; Advance Auto Parts, AdvanceMyTrack.com ‘Advance My Track Challenge’ ; Credit One Bank; Credible.com; Xfinity; ‘Friday Night Smackdown’ on Fox; NFL on FS1; TSL on Fox; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; Upcoming COTA race; Upcoming Cup race )

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

4:01 PM – 4:03 PM
Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar, Coca-Cola, Geico, Xfinity, Busch Beer, #NASCARSalutes NASCAR.com/tickets; Progressive; Ram Trucks; Little Caesars; ‘Friday Night Smackdown’ on Fox; MLS on Fox

4:32 PM – 4:35 PM
NASCAR.com/KidsTix ; Toyota (Kyle Busch); Xfinity.com/NASCAR ; Wendy’s; Fox Nation on Fox News

5:36 PM – 5:37 PM
Ram Trucks; Subway; Upcoming Cup Series race, Coca-Cola, Busch Beer, Geico, Xfinity; MLB on FS1

6:31 PM – 6:33 PM
#NASCARSalutes NASCAR.com/Tickets; Ford; Geico; MLB on FS1; MLS on FS1

1 thought on “Commercial breakdown: 2021 GoodYear 400”

Comments are closed.