Commercial breakdown: 2021 Geico 500

NASCAR on Fox continued its tradition of engaging Grand Marshalls on Sunday with the Hip Hop Duo, Tag Team. Thanks to Geico, the first thing a lot of people think of when they see them now is dancing while thinking of ice cream. After the race, the original song, “Whoomp, There it Is,” could also be altered to, “Tossin’ Joey Up in the Air, Now Bubba Tryin’ to Catch Him, He falls down.” There were eight Geico ads during this broadcast, and for those who like to know precisely how many others there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2021 Geico 500

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 2:00 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 5:46 PM

Minutes of race broadcast: 177
Minutes of traditional commercials: 49
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 9

Total number of commercials: 138
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 55
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 112
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 51
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 26
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 16
Number of times Fox utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 4

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: Coca-Cola (8 times); Geico (8 times); Xfinity (8 times); Busch Beer (8 times); Ram Trucks (8 times); Wendy’s (6 times); Toyota (6 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

‘Big Bang Theory’ and ‘2½ Men’ – 3
Baseball on Fox Sports foxsports.com/mlb – 2
Fox Nation nation.fox.com – 2
Fox Bet Super 6 app foxsports.com/app, Clint’s Stage 2 Contest – 1
Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 1
Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar ; Coca-Cola, Geico, Xfinity, Busch Beer – 1
‘Crime Scene Kitchen’ on Fox fox.com/crime-scene-kitchen – 1
‘Friday Night Smackdown’ fox.com/wwe-friday-night-smackdown – 1
‘Lego Masters’ fox.com/lego-masters – 1

Total: 13

Movies

‘Wrath of Man’ miramax.com/movie/wrath-of-man/ – 1

Total: 1

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

‘The National Desk’ on Fox 53 wpgh53.com – 2
PA Lottery palottery.state.pa.us/ – 2
Cochran cochran.com – 1
Cook Medical Hiring Event – 1

Total: 6

Restaurants/Food

Wendy’s wendys.com – 5
McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 4
Applebees applebees.com – 4
Coke Zero cokezero.com/ – 3
Coca-Cola Energy drink us.coca-cola.com/energy/ – 2
Dr. Pepper drpepper.com – 2
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 2
Subway Subway.com – 2

Total: 24

Beer/Alcohol

Busch busch.com – 4

Total: 4

Car/Truck/Bike

Ram Trucks ram.com – 6
Ford ford.com – 4
Chevy chevy.com – 4
Toyota toyota.com – 3
Advance Auto advanceautoparts.com – 3
Discount Tire – America’s Tire discounttire.com – 2
GoodYear goodyear.com – 2
Armor All facebook.com/armorall – 1
CarFax.com carfax.com – 1
Neighborhood Ford Store neighborhoodfordstore.com – 1
Toyota toyota.com (Bubba Wallace) – 1
WeatherTech.com weathertech.com – 1

Total: 29

Insurance/Health

USAA.com usaa.com – 5
Geico.com geico.com – 4
Progressive progressive.com – 2
Liberty Mutual libertymutual.com – 1

Total: 12

Wireless Phone

T-Mobile t-mobile.com/ – 4

Total: 4

Home Improvement

Kioti tractors kioti.com – 1

Total: 1

Financial

AmeriSave.com – 2
Ally Bank allybank.com (Alex Bowman) – 1
GoCreditOne gocreditone.com – 1
Experian.com/boost experian.com/boost – 1
Turbo Tax turbotax.com – 1
Womply Womply.com – 1

Total: 7

Technology

IBM ibm.com – 5
Verizon/frontline verizon.com/frontline – 3
Xfinity.com xfinity.com – 2

Total: 5

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Just For Men justformen.com – 2
Natures Bounty naturesbounty.com – 2
Entresto.com entresto.com – 1

Total: 5

Racing Related

Darlington Raceway darlingtonraceway.com – 1

Total: 1

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

2:00 PM – 2:02 PM – 2      2:02 PM – 2:05 PM – 3
2:05 PM – 2:08 PM – 3      2:08 PM – 2:10 PM – 2
2:10 PM – 2:27 PM – 17      2:27 PM – 2:29 PM – 2
2:29 PM – 2:34 PM – 5      2:34 PM – 2:37 PM – 3
2:37 PM – 2:44 PM – 7      2:44 PM – 2:47 PM – 3
2:47 PM – 2:57 PM – 10      2:57 PM – 2:59 PM – 2
2:59 PM – 3:02 PM – 3      3:02 PM – 3:04 PM – 2
3:04 PM – 3:21 PM – 17      3:21 PM – 3:24 PM – 3
3:24 PM – 3:28 PM – 4      3:28 PM – 3:32 PM – 4
3:32 PM – 3:38 PM – 6      3:38 PM – 3:41 PM – 3
3:41 PM – 3:45 PM – 4      3:45 PM – 3:47 PM – 2
3:47 PM – 3:57 PM – 10      3:57 PM – 4:00 PM – 3
4:00 PM – 4:02 PM – 2      4:02 PM – 4:05 PM – 3
4:05 PM – 4:07 PM – 2      4:07 PM – 4:09 PM – 2
4:09 PM – 4:11 PM – 2      4:11 PM – 4:14 PM – 3
4:14 PM – 4:26 PM – 12      4:26 PM – 4:29 PM – 3
4:29 PM – 4:33 PM – 4      4:33 PM – 4:36 PM – 3
4:36 PM – 4:54 PM – 18      4:54 PM – 4:56 PM – 2
4:56 PM – 5:22 PM – 26      5:22 PM – 5:23 PM – 1
5:23 PM – 5:46 PM – 23      5:46 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 177      Total comm. brdcst time: 49

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 27
(Geico; Monster Energy; Fox Sports and GoodSports.org ; Fox Bet Super 6 app, Clint’s Stage 2 Contest; Boys & Girls Club of America BGCA.org ; Hunt Bros. Pizza; KFC; McDonald’s; Door Dash; Coca-Cola, Coke Zero Sugar; Mountain Dew, DewOutdoorStimulus.com ; Busch Beer, #BuschDogBrew #Sweepstakes ; Ford Performance; Toyota; Ram Trucks; GoodYear; Castrol; Camping World; USAA; Credible.com; Credit One Bank; Xfinity, @XfinityRacing ; ‘Fox Nation’ on Fox News; MLB on FS1; Boxing on Fox Sports PPV; ‘Race Day’ on FS1; Upcoming Cup race)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

3:12 PM – 3:14 PM
Toyota (Kyle Busch); Upcoming Cup race, Coca-Cola, Busch Beer, Geico, Xfinity; AmeriSave; ‘911’ on Fox; Upcoming Xfinity race NASCAR.com/Xfinity; Subway; Boxing on Fox Sports PPV

4:46 PM – 4:48 PM
Progressive; Ram Trucks; Upcoming Camping World Truck Series NASCAR.com/trucks ; Boxing on Fox Sports PPV; Upcoming Cup race, Coca-Cola, Busch Beer, Geico, Xfinity; TodaysMilitary.com

5:09 PM – 5:11 PM
Geico; Upcoming Xfinity race NASCAR.com/Xfinity ; Toyota; Fox Nation on Fox News; NASCAR.com/KidsTix ; Wendy’s; Upcoming Camping World Truck Series NASCAR.com/trucks

5:17 PM – 5:20 PM
Ram Trucks; Progressive; Busch Light; Boxing on Fox Sports PPV; Xfinity.com/NASCAR ; AmeriSave

1 thought on “Commercial breakdown: 2021 Geico 500”

Comments are closed.