Commercial breakdown: 2021 Pennzoil 500 presented by Jiffy Lube

There is an old saying, “Mothers-in-law are the seeds that come with the tomatoes.” Far be it for anyone at CawsnJaws.com to debate such a disputable adage. What is not open-to-question is that commercials come along with racing broadcasts, and whether or not they are the equivalent of tomato seeds will not be debated here, either. However, for those who like to know precisely how many ads there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2021 Pennzoil 500 presented by Jiffy Lube

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 3:30 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 6:41 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 191
Minutes of race broadcast: 150
Minutes of traditional commercials: 41
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 8

Total number of commercials: 121
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 55
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 99
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 51
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 22
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 17
Number of times Fox utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 4

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: Xfinity (9 times); Geico (9 times); Busch Beer (7 times); Toyota (7 times); Coca-Cola (6 times); Ford (6 times); Jiffy Lube (6 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

‘Cherries Wild’ on Fox fox.com/cherries-wild – 4
Big East Tournament on Fox foxsports.com/college-basketball – 2
‘Big Bang Theory’ and ‘2½ Men’ – 2
FoxSports app foxsports.com – 1
Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar ; Coca-Cola, Geico, Xfinity, Busch Beer – 1
Fox Nation nation.fox.com – 1
‘Game of Talents’ fox.com/game-of-talents and ‘The Masked Singer’ fox.com/the-masked-singer/ – 1
‘The Masked Singer’ fox.com/the-masked-singer/ – 1
‘911’ fox.com/9-1-1 on Fox – 1
Paramount + paramountnetwork.com – 1

Total: 15

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

NBC local news wpxi.com on Foxfox.com – 2
A Comfort Service acomfortservice.com – 1
PA Lottery palottery.state.pa.us/ – 1

Total: 4

Restaurants/Food

Coke Zero Sugar us.coca-cola.com/zero-sugar – 3
KFC kfc.com/ – 3
Wendy’s wendys.com – 2
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 2
Reese’s reeses.com – 2
Door Dash doordash.com (Bubba Wallace) – 1
M&Ms mms.com – 1
Snickers.com snickers.com – 1
Taco Bell tacobell.com – 1

Total: 16

Beer/Alcohol

Busch busch.com – 4

Total: 4

Car/Truck/Bike

Ford ford.com – 5
Jiffy Lube jiffylube.com – 4
Ram Trucks ram.com – 3
GoodYear goodyear.com – 2
Toyota toyota.com – 2
Toyota toyota.com (Kyle Busch) – 2
Buyatoyota.com buyatoyota.com – 1
WeatherTech.com weathertech.com – 1
Chevy chevy.com – 1

Total: 21

Insurance/Health

USAA.com usaa.com – 5
Geico.com geico.com – 4
Progressive progressive.com – 2
Liberty Mutual libertymutual.com – 1

Total: 12

Wireless Phone

T-Mobile t-mobile.com/ – 2
T-Mobile/55 t-mobile.com/55 – 1
Xfinity Mobile xfinitymobile.com – 1

Total: 4

Financial

Experian.com/boost experian.com/boost – 2
Credible.com – 1
Guaranteed Rate rate.com (Ryan Newman) – 1
Turbo Tax turbotax.com – 1

Total: 5

Technology

Fan Duel fanduel.com – 2
IBM ibm.com – 2
Xfinity.com xfinity.com – 2
BetMGM sports.betmgm.com – 1
Consolidated Communications consolidated.com/FastInternet – 1
Tubi tubitv.com – 1

Total: 9

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Just For Men justformen.com – 3
Head & Shoulders headandshoulders.com – 2
Allegra allegra.com – 1
Gillette gillette.com – 1

Total: 7

Racing Related

NASCAR.com/kidstix nascar.com/kidstix – 1
Atlanta Motor Speedwayatlantamotorspeedway.com/ – 1

Total: 2

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

3:30 PM – 3:33 PM – 3      3:33 PM – 3:35 PM – 2
3:35 PM – 3:39 PM – 4      3:39 PM – 3:41 PM – 2
3:41 PM – 3:54 PM – 13      3:54 PM – 3:56 PM – 2
3:56 PM – 4:04 PM – 8      4:04 PM – 4:07 PM – 3
4:07 PM – 4:14 PM – 7      4:14 PM – 4:16 PM – 2
4:16 PM – 4:20 PM – 4      4:20 PM – 4:23 PM – 3
4:23 PM – 4:40 PM – 17      4:40 PM – 4:43 PM – 3
4:43 PM – 4:45 PM – 2      4:45 PM – 4:48 PM – 3
4:48 PM – 4:55 PM – 7      4:55 PM – 4:57 PM – 2
4:57 PM – 5:03 PM – 6      5:03 PM – 5:06 PM – 3
5:06 PM – 5:14 PM – 8      5:14 PM – 5:17 PM – 3
5:17 PM – 5:29 PM – 12      5:29 PM – 5:32 PM – 3
5:32 PM – 5:34 PM – 2      5:34 PM – 5:37 PM – 3
5:37 PM – 5:43 PM – 6      5:43 PM – 5:45 PM – 2
5:45 PM – 5:53 PM – 8      5:53 PM – 5:56 PM – 3
5:56 PM – 6:07 PM – 11      6:07 PM – 6:09 PM – 2
6:09 PM – 6:41 PM – 32      6:41 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 150      Total comm. brdcst time: 41

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 31
(Jiffy Lube; Monster Energy; Fox Bet Super 6 app, Clint’s Stage 2 Contest; Smithfield Power Bites smithfield.com/products/snacking/homestyle-power-bites/ ; KFC; Wendy’s; Subway; Ethel M candy ethelm.com ; Coca-Cola, Coke Zero Sugar; Busch Beer; Natural Light naturallight.com , #Naturdays ; Ford Performance; Toyota, TRD; Ram Trucks; GoodYear; Geico; Liberty Mutual; Progressive; USAA; AmeriSave; Ally Bank; Credit One Bank; Columbia Sportswear Columbia.com ; Xfinity; Big East Tournament on Fox/FS1; ‘Friday Night Smackdown’ on Fox; ‘Cherries Wild’ on Fox; ‘NASCAR Race Hub’ on FS1; Upcoming Bristol dirt race; Upcoming Xfinity race; Upcoming Cup race)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

4:31 PM – 4:33 PM
Progressive; Toyota; Upcoming Cup race, Coca-Cola, Busch Beer, Geico, Xfinity; PNC Bank; Jiffy Lube; Upcoming Xfinity race NASCAR.com/
Xfinity

5:22 PM – 5:24 PM
Ram Trucks; Upcoming Camping World Truck Series race NASCAR.com/trucks ; Wendy’s; Upcoming Cup race, Coca-Cola, Busch Beer, Geico, Xfinity; Big East Tournament on Fox/FS1

6:14 PM – 6:16 PM
Toyota (Bubba Wallace); Progressive; Xfinity.com/nascar ; Fox Nation; Upcoming Xfinity Series race NASCAR.com/Xfinity

6:26 PM – 6:28 PM
Ford; Geico; Fox Sports app; Jiffy Lube; Subway; Upcoming Camping World Truck Series race NASCAR.com/trucks

1 thought on “Commercial breakdown: 2021 Pennzoil 500 presented by Jiffy Lube”

Comments are closed.