Commercial breakdown: 2021 Instacart 500

Whether peace-loving fans like it or not, wrecks and fisticuffs are what are promoted in ads for upcoming races. Watching cars sail through the air, or profane words and sometimes fists beating down on a driver are what gets an audience’s attention, and broadcasters don’t mind using them to tout a race. This past weekend, the colorful history between Jeff Gordon and Clint Bowyer was used to add some spice to the ads and pre-race shows, to bring chuckles to viewers everywhere. Yes, there were commercials about other things, too, perhaps not as amusing, but still essential to the broadcast. For those who want to know how many there were, and other stats, please read on.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2021 Instacart 500

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 3:30 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 6:48 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 198
Minutes of race broadcast: 155
Minutes of traditional commercials: 43
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 10

Total number of commercials: 121
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 60
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 99
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 57
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 22
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 20
Number of times Fox utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 4

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: Geico (9 times); Xfinity (9 times); Toyota (8 times); Coca-Cola (7 times); Busch Beer (7 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

‘Cherries Wild’ on Fox fox.com/cherries-wild – 3
Fox Nation nation.fox.com – 2
Olympic Qualifying on FS1 – 2
Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar ; Coca-Cola, Geico, Xfinity, Busch Beer – 2
‘Big Bang Theory’ and ‘2½ Men’ – 2
Cheetah Championship Bowling on Fox Sports – 1
FoxSports/app foxsports.com/app – 1
‘Fox Sports Live’ on FS1 foxsports.com/watch/fox-sports-live – 1
Upcoming Xfinity race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar and NASCAR.com/Tickets – 1
‘Friday Night Smackdown’ fox.com/wwe-friday-night-smackdown – 1
‘The Masked Singer’ fox.com/the-masked-singer/ – 1

Total: 17

Movies

‘Godzilla vs. Kong’ godzillavskong.com – 1

Total: 1

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

A Comfort Service acomfortservice.com – 2
NBC local news wpxi.com on Foxfox.com – 1
C Harper Kia CHarperKIA.net – 1

Total: 4

Restaurants/Food

Coke Zero Sugar us.coca-cola.com/zero-sugar – 3
Door Dash doordash.com – 3
KFC kfc.com/ – 3
Subway Subway.com – 3
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 2
Reese’s reeses.com – 2
Wendy’s wendys.com – 2
Little Caesars littlecaesars.com – 1

Total: 19

Beer/Alcohol

Busch busch.com – 2

Total: 2

Car/Truck/Bike

Ram Trucks ram.com – 3
Toyota toyota.com – 3
Toyota toyota.com (Kyle Busch) – 2
Ford ford.com – 2
GoodYear goodyear.com – 2
Chevy chevy.com – 1
Jiffy Lube jiffylube.com – 1
Buyatoyota.com buyatoyota.com – 1
Toyota toyota.com (Bubba Wallace) – 1
WeatherTech.com weathertech.com – 1

Total: 17

Insurance/Health

Geico.com geico.com – 5
USAA.com usaa.com – 3
Liberty Mutual libertymutual.com – 2
Progressive progressive.com – 2

Total: 12

Wireless Phone

T-Mobile/55 t-mobile.com/55 – 2
Xfinity Mobile xfinitymobile.com – 1
T-Mobile t-mobile.com/ – 1

Total: 4

Home Improvement

Benjamin Moore paint benjaminmoore.com – 1

Total: 1

Financial

AmeriSave.com – 2
Ally Bank allybank.com (Alex Bowman) – 1
Credible.com – 1
Guaranteed Rate rate.com (Ryan Newman) – 1

Total: 5

Legal

Edgar Snyder edgarsnyder.com – 1

Total: 1

Technology

Xfinity.com xfinity.com – 2
Amazon Alexa amazon.com/alexa – 1
BetMGM sports.betmgm.com – 1
Fan Duel fanduel.com – 1
IBM ibm.com – 1
Tubi tubitv.com – 1

Total: 7

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Allegra allegra.com – 2
Casper Mattress casper.com – 1
Entresto.com entresto.com – 1
Gillette gillette.com – 1
Head & Shoulders headandshoulders.com – 1
Just for Men ControlGX Shampoo justformen.com/control-gx-shampoo.html/ – 1
Skyrizi skyrizi.com – 1
Xyzal xyzal.com – 1

Total: 9

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

3:30 PM – 3:33 PM – 3      3:33 PM – 3:34 PM – 1
3:34 PM – 3:39 PM – 5      3:39 PM – 3:41 PM – 2
3:41 PM – 3:53 PM – 12      3:53 PM – 3:55 PM – 2
3:55 PM – 4:05 PM – 10      4:05 PM – 4:07 PM – 2
4:07 PM – 4:15 PM – 8      4:15 PM – 4:18 PM – 3
4:18 PM – 4:30 PM – 12      4:30 PM – 4:33 PM – 3
4:33 PM – 4:35 PM – 2      4:35 PM – 4:39 PM – 4
4:39 PM – 4:45 PM – 6      4:45 PM – 4:48 PM – 3
4:48 PM – 4:49 PM – 1      4:49 PM – 4:52 PM – 3
4:52 PM – 4:59 PM – 7      4:59 PM – 5:01 PM – 2
5:01 PM – 5:09 PM – 8      5:09 PM – 5:11 PM – 2
5:11 PM – 5:17 PM – 6       5:17 PM – 5:20 PM – 3
5:20 PM – 5:36 PM – 16      5:36 PM – 5:40 PM – 4
5:40 PM – 5:42 PM – 2      5:42 PM – 5:45 PM – 3
5:45 PM – 5:54 PM – 9      5:54 PM – 5:57 PM – 3
5:57 PM – 6:02 PM – 5      6:02 PM – 6:05 PM – 3
6:05 PM – 6:48 PM – 43      6:48 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 155      Total comm. brdcst time: 43

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 28
(Instacart Instacart.com ; Monster Energy; Fox Bet Super 6 app, Clint’s Stage 2 Contest; Fox Sports and Good Sports text PLAY to 36413 ; Hunt Bros. Pizza; Wendy’s; Little Caesars; Subway; KFC; Coca-Cola, Coke Zero Sugar; Busch Beer; Ford Performance; Toyota; Ram Trucks; GoodYear; Geico; Liberty Mutual; USAA; Offerpad.com ; Credit One Bank; Ally Bank; tubi; Xfinity; ‘Friday Night Smackdown’ on Fox; ‘Cherries Wild’ on Fox; MLB on FS1; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; Upcoming Cup races)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

4:24 PM – 4:26 PM
Progressive; Wendy’s; Upcoming Cup race, Coca-Cola, Busch Beer, Geico, Xfinity; Ram Trucks; NASCAR.com/kidstix

5:27 PM – 5:29 PM
McDonald’s; Upcoming Camping World Truck Series race NASCAR.com/trucks ; AmeriSave; NASCAR.com/kidstix ; Fox Sports app; ‘Friday Night Smackdown’ on Fox

6:15 PM – 6:17 PM
Casper; Xfinity.com/nascar ; ‘America’s Most Wanted’ on Fox; Upcoming Xfinity Series race NASCAR.com/Xfinity; Toyota

6:33 PM – 6:36 PM
Ford; Busch Light Beer; ‘Masked Singer’ on Fox; AmeriSave; Little Caesars; Upcoming Cup race, Coca-Cola, Busch Beer, Geico, Xfinity

1 thought on “Commercial breakdown: 2021 Instacart 500”

Comments are closed.