Commercial breakdown: 2021 Food City Dirt Race

When you put ‘dirt’ into your internet search bar, you may be surprised at the myriad of possible destinations you can surf towards. Descriptions of loose soil pop up, of course; but also places you can buy dirt, and the best kinds to put in your garden. There is a ‘luxury real estate’ website simply called dirt.com. Dirt is bad sometimes (like when it is all over your dog), or good sometimes (when you successfully plant tomatoes in it). On Monday, NASCAR fans were treated to two series running races at the hallowed Bristol Motor Speedway, temporarily turned into a dirt track. Excitement abounded, as did swirling clouds of dust and grime, and thick mud clogged the grills and covered the windshields. The experience as a whole was terrific, just like any race broadcast containing the commercials that make it all possible. For fans who like to know precisely how many ads there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2021 Food City Dirt Race

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 4:08 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 7:09 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 181
Minutes of race broadcast: 149
Minutes of traditional commercials: 32
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 7

Total number of commercials: 104
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 50
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 83
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 46
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 21
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 17
Number of times Fox utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 3

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: Coca-Cola (7 times); Busch Beer (7 times); Geico (6 times); Toyota (6 times); Kioti (6 times); Xfinity (5 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

Fox Bet Super 6 app foxsports.com/app – 2
Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar ; Coca-Cola, Geico, Xfinity, Busch Beer – 2
‘Gutfield’ on foxnews.com – 1
‘The Masked Singer’ fox.com/the-masked-singer/ – 1
‘Seinfeld’ – 1

Total: 7

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

C Harper Kia CHarperKIA.net – 3
A Comfort Service acomfortservice.com – 2
NBC local news wpxi.com on Foxfox.com – 1
‘The National Desk’ on Fox 53 wpgh53.com – 1

Total: 7

Restaurants/Food

Coca-Cola cocacola.com – 4
Pizza Hut pizzahut.com/ – 3
Wendy’s wendys.com – 2
Door Dash doordash.com – 1
Dr. Pepper drpepper.com – 1
KFC kfc.com/ – 1
Little Caesars littlecaesars.com – 1
McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 1
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 1
Pepsi pepsi.com – 1

Total: 16

Beer/Alcohol

Busch busch.com – 3

Total: 3

Car/Truck/Bike

Advance Auto advanceautoparts.com – 3
Toyota toyota.com – 3
Ford ford.com – 3
GoodYear goodyear.com – 3
Armor All facebook.com/armorall – 1
CarFax.com carfax.com – 1
Chevy chevy.com – 1
Ram Trucks ram.com – 1
Jiffy Lube jiffylube.com – 1
NissanUSA.com nissanusa.com – 1
Toyota toyota.com (Kyle Busch) – 1
Toyota toyota.com (Bubba Wallace) – 1
WeatherTech.com weathertech.com – 1

Total: 21

Insurance/Health

USAA.com usaa.com – 4
Geico.com geico.com – 3
Liberty Mutual libertymutual.com – 1
Progressive progressive.com – 1

Total: 9

Wireless Phone

T-Mobile/55 t-mobile.com/55 – 1

Total: 1

Home Improvement

Kioti tractors kioti.com – 6

Total: 6

Financial

AmeriSave.com – 2
Experian.com/boost experian.com/boost – 2
Turbo Tax turbotax.com – 1

Total: 5

Legal

Berger and Green bergerandgreen.com – 1

Total: 1

Technology

Fan Duel fanduel.com – 2
Xfinity/NASCAR xfinity.com/nascar – 1

Total: 3

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Gillette gillette.com – 2
Icy Hot icyhot.com – 1
Just For Men justformen.com – 1

Total: 4

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:
4:08 PM – 4:09 PM – 1
4:09 PM – 4:13 PM – 4      4:13 PM – 4:15 PM – 2
4:15 PM – 4:35 PM – 20      4:35 PM – 4:39 PM – 4
4:39 PM – 4:47 PM – 8      4:47 PM – 4:50 PM – 3
4:50 PM – 4:53 PM – 3      4:53 PM – 4:56 PM – 3
4:56 PM – 5:00 PM – 4      5:00 PM – 5:03 PM – 3
5:03 PM – 5:20 PM – 17     5:20 PM – 5:23 PM – 3
5:23 PM – 5:26 PM – 3      5:26 PM – 5:29 PM – 3
5:29 PM – 5:48 PM – 19       5:48 PM – 5:51 PM – 3
5:51 PM – 5:54 PM – 3      5:54 PM – 5:57 PM – 3
5:57 PM – 6:29 PM – 32       6:29 PM – 6:31 PM – 2
6:31 PM – 6:41 PM – 10      6:41 PM – 6:43 PM – 2
6:43 PM – 7:09 PM – 26      7:09 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 149      Total comm. brdcst time: 32

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 28
(Food City; Fox Sports app; Fox Bet Super 6, Clint’s Stage 2 Contest ; Monster Energy; Hunt Bros. Pizza; Wendy’s; Subway; KFC; Door Dash; Coca-Cola; NOS; Busch Beer, #BuschDirtCar , #Sweepstakes ; Ford Performance; Toyota; Ram Trucks; GoodYear; Geico; Progressive; USAA; Advance Auto Parts, AdvanceMyTrack.com ‘Advance My Track Challenge’ ; Kioti; Credit One Bank; iRacing.com ; Xfinity; ‘America’s Most Wanted’ on Fox; ‘Friday Night Smackdown’ on Fox; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; Upcoming Cup race)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

4:25 PM – 4:28 PM
Progressive; Upcoming Camping World Truck Series race NASCAR.com/trucks ; Ram Trucks; AmeriSave; Wendy’s; Friday Night Smackdown on FS1; MLB on FS1

5:36 PM – 5:38 PM
Toyota (Kyle Busch); Progressive; KFC; Jiffy Lube; ‘The Masked Singer’ on Fox; NASCAR.com/Xfinity

6:08 PM – 6:10 PM
Ford; Progressive; AmeriSave; Busch Beer; Subway; MLB on FS1; Fox Sports app; Upcoming Cup race, Coca-Cola, Busch Beer, Geico, Xfinity

1 thought on “Commercial breakdown: 2021 Food City Dirt Race”

Comments are closed.