Commercial breakdown: 2021 Daytona 500

Who remembers being a child wanting to go somewhere really exciting, a place you had been dreaming of for months? On the way out the door, with your heart pounding, you rushed to the car… only to find that your parents had stopped to talk over-the-fence to the neighbors? It would feel like the conversation went on endlessly, and you would think to yourself, “Let’s just GO already!” After waiting for racing since Thanksgiving, NASCAR fans felt the same way Sunday, as bad weather rolled in and interrupted the Daytona 500 for hours. With the resumption of the race once the track was dry, the only thing left to be frustrated with was the commercials. Here is this week’s breakdown of how many there were, and more:

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2021 Daytona 500

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 2:46 PM
Stop time for weather: 3:41 PM
Restart: 8:57 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 12:17 AM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 255
Minutes of race broadcast: 206
Minutes of traditional commercials: 49
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 9

Total number of commercials: 131
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 73
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 109
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 67
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 22
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 19
Number of times Fox utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 4

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: Busch Beer (10 times); Geico (10 times); Coca-Cola (8 times); Xfinity (7 times); Wendy’s (5 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

‘Wheelin’ & Dealin’ WhoisBobbySpencer.com youtube.com – 2
Daytona Road Course race on Fox foxsports.com/nascar/ – 2
‘Big Bang Theory’ and ‘2½ Men’ – 2
‘Friday Night Smackdown’ fox.com/wwe-friday-night-smackdown – 2
Paramount + paramountnetwork.com – 1
Discovery + discoveryplus.com – 1
‘The Crew’ on Netflix – 1
Fox Bet Super 6 app foxsports.com/app – 1
FoxSports/app foxsports.com/app – 1
Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar ; Coca-Cola, Geico, Xfinity, Busch Beer – 1
Upcoming Xfinity race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 1
Upcoming Camping World Truck race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 1
‘Animation Domination’ fox.com/animation-domination – 1
‘Seinfeld’ & ‘Last Man Standing’ – 1

Total: 18

Movies

‘Godzilla vs. Kong’ godzillavskong.com – 1
‘Tom & Jerry: The Movie’ tomandjerrymovie.com – 1

Total: 2

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

NBC local news wpxi.com on Foxfox.com – 1
A Comfort Service acomfortservice.com – 1
C Harper Kia CHarperKIA.net – 1
PA Lottery palottery.state.pa.us/ – 1

Total: 4

Restaurants/Food

Wendy’s wendys.com – 4
Coke Zero Sugar us.coca-cola.com/zero-sugar – 3
KFC kfc.com/ – 2
McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 2
Taco Bell tacobell.com – 2
Chick-fil-a.com #thelittlethings – 1
Door Dash doordash.com (Bubba Wallace) – 1

Total: 15

Beer/Alcohol

Busch busch.com – 3

Total: 3

Car/Truck/Bike

Ram Trucks ram.com – 3
Ford ford.com – 3
Advance Auto Parts DieHardisBack.com – 2
GMCDealer.com gmcdealer.com – 2
GoodYear goodyear.com – 2
Chevy chevy.com – 1
Indian Motorcycle indianmotorcycle.com – 1
Jiffy Lube jiffylube.com – 1
Buyatoyota.com buyatoyota.com – 1
WeatherTech.com weathertech.com – 1

Total: 17

Insurance/Health

Geico.com geico.com – 5
USAA.com usaa.com – 4
Progressive progressive.com – 2
Liberty Mutual libertymutual.com – 1
NJM Insurance – 1
UPMC/Medicare upmc.com/medicade – 1

Total: 14

Wireless Phone

T-Mobile t-mobile.com/ – 4
Verizon vzw.com – 1

Total: 5

Financial

Ally Bank allybank.com (Alex Bowman) – 2
AmeriSave.com – 2
Turbo Tax turbotax.com – 2
Experian.com/boost experian.com/boost – 1

Total: 7

Legal

David J. Shrager ShragerDefense.com 412-969-2540 call/text – 1
Edgar Snyder edgarsnyder.com – 1

Total: 2

Technology

IBM ibm.com – 3
Google Pixel store.google.com/us/magazine/compare_pixel – 2
Verizon verizon.com/ – 2
Amazon amazon.com – 2
BetMGM sports.betmgm.com – 1
Comcast Business comcastbusiness.com – 1
Comcast/Education comcast.com/education – 1
Tubi tubitv.com – 1
Xfinity.com xfinity.com – 1

Total: 14

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Casper Mattress casper.com – 1
Gillette gillette.com – 1
Head & Shoulders headandshoulders.com – 1
Skyrizi skyrizi.com – 1
Sleep Number bedsleepnumber.com – 1
Tremfya.com – 1

Total: 6

Shipping

FedEx fedex.com/ – 1

Total: 1

Racing Related

NASCAR.com nascar.com – 1

Total: 1

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

2:46 PM – 2:49 PM – 3      2:49 PM – 2:52 PM – 3
2:52 PM – 2:57 PM – 5      2:57 PM – 2:59 PM – 2
2:59 PM – 3:13 PM – 14      3:13 PM – 3:16 PM – 3
3:16 PM – 3:26 PM – 10      3:26 PM – 3:29 PM – 3
3:29 PM – 3:39 PM – 10      3:39 PM – 3:41 PM – 2
3:41 PM – Weather Delay

————– Weather Delay —————-

8:57 PM – 9:04 PM – 7      9:04 PM – 9:06 PM – 2
9:06 PM – 9:17 PM – 11      9:17 PM – 9:20 PM – 3
9:20 PM – 9:28 PM – 8      9:28 PM – 9:31 PM – 3
9:31 PM – 9:43 PM – 12       9:43 PM – 9:46 PM – 3
9:46 PM – 10:09 PM – 23      10:09 PM – 10:11 PM – 2
10:11 PM – 10:14 PM – 3      10:14 PM – 10:17 PM – 3
10:17 PM – 10:37 PM – 20      10:37 PM – 10:40 PM – 3
10:40 PM – 10:42 PM – 2      10:42 PM – 10:44 PM – 2
10:44 PM – 10:52 PM – 8      10:52 PM – 10:54 PM – 2
10:54 PM – 10:58 PM – 4      10:58 PM – 11:00 PM – 2
11:00 PM – 11:14 PM – 14      11:14 PM – 11:17 PM – 3
11:17 PM – 11:19 PM – 2      11:19 PM – 11:22 PM – 3
11:22 PM – 11:30 PM – 8      11:30 PM – 11:33 PM – 3
11:33 PM – 11:39 PM – 6      11:39 PM – 11:41 PM – 2
11:41 PM – 12:17 AM – 36      12:17 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 206      Total comm. brdcst time: 49

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 26
(Fox Bet Super 6 app, Clint’s Stage 2 Contest; Good Sports Restore Play Program text PLAY to 36413 ; Preview of ‘The Dream’ toyota.com/racing/ ; Monster Energy; Wendy’s; KFC; Little Caesar’s; Coca-Cola, Coke Zero Sugar; Busch Beer, Busch Light, @BuschBeer #TheCrew #BuschContest ; Chevy; Ford Performance; Toyota, TRD; Dodge Ram; GoodYear; Geico; Progressive; USAA; Advent; Credit One Bank; IBM; tubi; ‘The Crew’ on Netflix; ‘Friday Night Smackdown’ on WWE; ‘Fox Nation’ on Fox; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; upcoming Cup, Xfinity, & Camping World Truck races; AMR Safety Team)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

10:27 PM – 10:29 PM
Progressive; Toyota; Busch Beer; Wendy’s; Upcoming Cup race, Coca-Cola, Geico, Xfinity, Busch Beer; ‘Fox Nation’ on Fox

11:07 PM – 11:10 PM
Ram Trucks; TurboTax; ‘Fox Nation’ on Fox; Upcoming Cup race, Coca-Cola, Busch Beer, Geico, Xfinity; Little Caesars

11:47 PM – 11:49 PM
Progressive; Upcoming Cup race, Coca-Cola, Busch Beer, Geico, Xfinity; Busch Light Beer; NASCAR.com/kidstix; Jiffy Lube; ‘911’ on Fox

11:57 PM – 11:59 PM
Ford; KFC; Just for Men Control GX; Upcoming Cup race, Coca-Cola, Busch Beer, Geico, Xfinity; ‘911’ on Fox

1 thought on “Commercial breakdown: 2021 Daytona 500”

Comments are closed.