Commercial breakdown: 2020 Toyota 500(k)

On Wednesday night, the rain first delayed the Cup race, then shortened it. In-between all of that, an exciting race was run; but as race fans well know, so were the proverbial commercials. For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2020 Toyota 500(k)

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 7:30 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 10:48 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 198
Minutes of race broadcast: 168
Minutes of traditional commercials: 30
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 5

Total number of commercials: 81
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 45
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 69
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 40
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 12
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 11
Number of times FS1 utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 2

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: Toyota (4 times); Subway (4 times); Wendy’s (4 times); upcoming Cup race (3 times); USAA (3 times); Geico (3 times); USPS (3 times); Ford (3 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 3
Fox Nation nation.fox.com – 1
‘Home & Family’ Hallmark channel.com/home-and-family – 1
‘Race Hub’ foxsports.com/nascar/racehub – 1
‘Speak for Yourself’ foxsports.com/presspass/latestnews/2016/05/10-/speak-for-yourself-colin-cowherd-and-jason-whitlock-team-up-on-f – 1
‘Ultimate Tag’ on Fox fox.com/ultimate-tag and ‘The Masked Singer’ fox.com/the-masked-singer/ – 1
‘WWE Smackdown’ fox.com/WWE-Friday-night-smackdown – 1

Total: 9

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

Molyneaux beautifulfloors.com – 2
Original Mattress Factory originalmattressfactory.com – 2
Rosa’s Beer Distributor facebook.com/rosabeerdistributor/ – 2

Total: 6

Restaurants/Food

Subway Subway.com – 4
Wendy’s wendys.com – 4
Coca-Cola cocacola.com – 2
Little Caesars littlecaesars.com – 2
McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 2
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 1
Oscar Mayer oscarmayer.com – 1
KFC kfc.com/ – 1

Total: 17

Beer/Alcohol

Budweiser budweiser.com – 2

Total: 2

Car/Truck/Bike

Toyota toyota.com – 3
Mobil 1 mobil1.us (Clint Bowyer, Kevin Harvick) – 2
Dodge DriveForwardFCA.com – 2
Ford ford.com – 2
ChevyCares.com – 1
GoodYear goodyear.com (Dale Earnhardt Jr.) – 1
Jeep DriveForwardFCA.com – 1

Total: 12

Insurance/Health

USAA.com/coronavirus usaa.com/coronavirus – 3
Geico.com geico.com – 3
Hippo.com – 2
Allstate allstate.com – 1
CoronaVirus.org #AloneTogether – 1
Progressive progressive.com – 1

Total: 11

Wireless Phone

Xfinity Mobile xfinitymobile.com – 2

Total: 2

Home Improvement

Scotts scotts.com – 2

Total: 2

Technology

Amazon amazon.com – 1
IBM ibm.com – 1

Total: 2

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Blue Emu blue-emu.com (Rusty Wallace) – 1
Rinvoq rinvoq.com – 1

Total: 2

Shipping

USPS usps.com – 3

Total: 3

Racing Related

NASCAR.com/Shop nascar.com/shop – 1

Total: 1

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

7:30 PM – 7:34 PM – 4      7:34 PM – 7:36 PM – 2
7:36 PM – 7:39 PM – 3      7:39 PM – 7:41 PM – 2
7:41 PM – 7:55 PM – 14      7:55 PM – 7:57 PM – 2
7:57 PM – 8:04 PM – 7       8:04 PM – 8:06 PM – 2
8:06 PM – 8:22 PM – 16      8:22 PM – 8:25 PM – 3
8:25 PM – 8:42 PM – 17      8:42 PM – 8:44 PM – 2
8:44 PM – 8:47 PM – 3      8:47 PM – 8:49 PM – 2
8:49 PM – 8:57 PM – 8      8:57 PM – 9:00 PM – 3
9:00 PM – 9:06 PM – 6      9:06 PM – 9:09 PM –3
9:09 PM – 9:33 PM – 24      9:33 PM – 9:36 PM – 3
9:36 PM – 9:39 PM – 3      9:39 PM – 9:42 PM – 3
9:42 PM – 10:12 PM – 30      10:12 PM – 10:15 PM – 3
10:15 PM – 10:48 PM – 33      10:48 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 168      Total comm. brdcst time: 30

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 22
(Monster Energy; Subway; Coca-Cola, USO uso.org & Red Cross redcross.org #WeLoveThisPlace @cocacola ; Busch Beer; Chevy; Ford Performance; Toyota, TRD; Dodge Ram; Exxon/Mobil 1; GoodYear; Geico; Progressive; USAA; Credit One Bank; Blue Emu; Xfinity; ‘WWE Smackdown’ on FS1; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; upcoming Xfinity race; upcoming Cup race)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

9:19 PM – 9:22 PM
Toyota; Progressive; KFC; Busch Beer; The Real Heroes Project #TheRealHeroes ; ‘WWE Smackdown’ on Fox; upcoming Xfinity race

9:49 PM – 9:51 PM
Ford; Geico; Xfinity; ‘Ultimate Tag’ & ‘Masked Singer’ on Fox; upcoming Xfinity race