Commercial breakdown: 2020 The Real Heroes 400

On Sunday, NASCAR returned to ‘real’ racing at Darlington Raceway, leaving cyberspace and virtual tracks behind. As will always be the case, the commercials returned, too. Whether they are irritating interruptions, or chances for folks to run for more snacks, commercials are a reality for NASCAR fans on race day. For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2020 The Real Heroes 400

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 3:35 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 7:22 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 227
Minutes of race broadcast: 179
Minutes of traditional commercials: 48
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 3

Total number of commercials: 120
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 55
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 112
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 54
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 8
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 8
Number of times Fox utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 2

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: Geico (6 times); Busch Beer (5 times); ChevyCares.com (5 times); Toyota (5 times); Ford (5 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

Upcoming Cup race on FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 3
Fox Nation nation.fox.com – 2
‘Ultimate Tag’ on Fox fox.com/ultimate-tag and ‘The Masked Singer’ fox.com/the-masked-singer/ – 2
‘WWE Smackdown’ fox.com/WWE-Friday-night-smackdown – 2
‘The Masked Singer’ fox.com/the-masked-singer/ – 1
’24 Hours To Hell & Back’ fox.com/gordon-ramsays-24-hours-to-hell-back/ on Fox – 1
US Open usga.org/2016usopen on Fox Sports – 1
‘Big Bang Theory’ and ‘2½ Men’ – 1

Total: 13

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

Cochran cochran.com – 2
NBC local news wpxi.com on Foxfox.com – 1
A Comfort Service acomfortservice.com – 1

Total: 4

Restaurants/Food

Subway Subway.com – 4
Wendy’s wendys.com – 4
Coca-Cola cocacola.com – 2
KFC kfc.com/ – 1
Little Caesars littlecaesars.com – 1
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 1
Pizza Hut pizzahut.com/ – 1

Total: 14

Beer/Alcohol

Busch busch.com – 5

Total: 5

Car/Truck/Bike

ChevyCares.com – 5
Toyota toyota.com – 5
Ford ford.com – 4
GoodYear goodyear.com (Dale Earnhardt Jr.) – 4
Armor All facebook.com/armorall – 2
Discount Tire – America’s Tire discounttire.com – 2
Jeep DriveForwardFCA.com – 1
Vroom vroom.com – 1
WeatherTech.com weathertech.com – 1

Total: 25

Insurance/Health

Geico.com geico.com – 6
USAA.com/coronavirus usaa.com/coronavirus – 4
Liberty Mutual libertymutual.com – 2
Progressive progressive.com – 2
CoronaVirus.org – 1
FeedingAmerica.org/coronavirus – 1
Geico.com/GiveBack geico.com/giveback – 1
Real Heroes Project theheroesproject.org – 1

Total: 18

Home Improvement

Kioti tractors kioti.com – 3

Total: 3

Financial

Ally Bank allybank.com (Jimmie Johnson) #OneFinalTime – 2
Citizens Bank/SmallBusinessRecovery citizensbank.com/smallbusinessrecovery – 1
Experian.com experian.com – 1
Experian.com/boost experian.com/boost – 1

Total: 5

Technology

Amazon amazon.com – 2
IBM ibm.com – 2
Comcast Business comcast.com/business – 1
Fan Duel fanduel.com – 1
Verizon verizon.com/publicsafety – 1
Xfinity/NASCAR xfinity.com/nascar – 1

Total: 9

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Bounce bouncefresh.com – 2
Duracell duracell.com/ – 2
Gain ilovegain.com – 2
SaveonSymbicort.com saveonsymbicort.com – 2
Blue Emu blue-emu.com (Rusty Wallace) – 1
Downy Unstoppables downy.com – 1
Downy Wrinkle Guard downy.com – 1
Osteo Bi-Flex osteobiflex.com – 1
Skyrizi skyrizi.com – 1
Tide tide.com – 1
Tide Hope.TideCleaners.com – 1

Total: 15

Shipping

FedEx fedex.com/ – 1

Total: 1

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

3:35 PM – 3:37 PM – 2      3:37 PM – 3:39 PM – 2
3:39 PM – 3:43 PM – 4      3:43 PM – 3:46 PM – 3
3:46 PM – 3:57 PM – 11      3:57 PM – 3:59 PM – 2
3:59 PM – 4:08 PM – 9      4:08 PM – 4:11 PM – 3
4:11 PM – 4:19 PM – 8      4:19 PM – 4:22 PM – 3
4:22 PM – 4:25 PM – 3      4:25 PM – 4:27 PM – 2
4:27 PM – 4:37 PM – 10      4:37 PM – 4:39 PM – 2
4:39 PM – 4:46 PM – 7      4:46 PM – 4:49 PM – 3
4:49 PM – 4:56 PM – 7      4:56 PM – 4:58 PM – 2
4:58 PM – 5:01 PM – 3      5:01 PM – 5:04 PM – 3
5:04 PM – 5:16 PM – 12      5:16 PM – 5:18 PM – 2
5:18 PM – 5:28 PM – 10      5:28 PM – 5:31 PM – 3
5:31 PM – 5:39 PM – 8      5:39 PM – 5:41 PM – 2
5:41 PM – 5:48 PM – 7      5:48 PM – 5:51 PM – 3
5:51 PM – 6:01 PM – 10      6:01 PM – 6:04 PM – 3
6:04 PM – 6:09 PM – 5      6:09 PM – 6:12 PM – 3
6:12 PM – 6:14 PM – 2      6:14 PM – 6:17 PM – 3
6:17 PM – 6:28 PM – 11      6:28 PM – 6:30 PM – 2
6:30 PM – 6:59 PM – 29      6:59 PM – 7:01 PM – 2
7:01 PM – 7:22 PM – 21      7:22 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 179      Total comm. brdcst time: 48

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 28
(Monster Energy; FoxSports.com/NASCARisBack ; ‘100,000 Cameras – The Return of NASCAR’ #100KCAMS ; Fox Bet Super 6 app; Darlington Watch Party on twitter @nascaronfox ; Subway; Coca-Cola #WeLoveThisPlace @cocacola , USO.org, RedCross.org ; Busch Beer #YourFaceHere #BuschContest ; Chevy; Ford Performance; Toyota, TRD; Dodge Ram; GoodYear; Geico; Liberty Mutual; Progressive; USAA; Credit One Bank; Ally Bank; Symbicort; Blue Emu; Tide; Xfinity; ‘Ultimate Tag’ and ‘The Masked Singer’ on Fox; ‘WWE Smackdown’ on Fox; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; upcoming Xfinity race; upcoming Cup races)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

6:41 PM – 6:42 PM
Toyota; Progressive; ‘WWE Smackdown’ on Fox; upcoming Cup race

6:50 PM – 6:52 PM
Ford; Geico; ‘Ultimate Tag’ on Fox; HooterstoGo.com (Chase Elliott)