Commercial breakdown: 2020 Food City Showdown

They say three is a charm, and on Sunday Fox provided the third virtual NASCAR Cup race. Whether the races are real or in cyberspace, commercials are a reality for NASCAR fans on race day. For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2020 Food City Showdown

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 1:12 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 3:16 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 124
Minutes of race broadcast: 104
Minutes of commercials: 20

Total number of commercials: 44
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 37

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: iRacing.com (3 times); ‘The Masked Singer’ on Fox (2 times); Medicare Coverage Help Line (2 times); 2020Census.gov (2 times); IBM (2 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

‘The Masked Singer’ fox.com/the-masked-singer/ – 2
‘Seinfeld’ & ‘Last One Standing’ – 1
‘2 ½ Men’, ‘Big Bang Theory’ – 1
‘WWE Smackdown’ fox.com/WWE-Friday-night-smackdown – 1
WrestleMania 36 Part 2 on FoxSports.com – 1

Total: 6

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

NBC local news wpxi.com on Foxfox.com – 1

Total: 1

Restaurants/Food

Bolt24 drinkbolt24.com – 1
McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 1
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 1
Reese’s reeses.com – 1
Starburst facebook.com/starburst – 1
Whole Foods wholefoodsmarket.com – 1

Total: 6

Car/Truck/Bike

Toyota toyota.com – 1

Total: 1

Insurance/Health

Medicare Coverage Help Line – 2
Allstate allstate.com – 1
Colonial Penn colonialpenn.com – 1
CoronaVirus.org #AloneTogether – 1
CoronaVirus.org #AloneTogether (various NASCAR drivers) – 1
FeedingAmerica.org/coronavirus – 1
Liberty Mutual libertymutual.com – 1
State Farm statefarm.com – 1
USAA.com/coronavirus usaa.com/coronavirus – 1

Total: 10

Wireless Phone

Cricket mycricket.com – 1
Verizon verizon.com – 1

Total: 2

Home Improvement

Kioti tractors kioti.com – 1

Total: 1

Financial

2020 Census 2020census.gov – 2
H&R Block hrblock.com – 1
QuickBooks.com/SmallBusinessHelp quickbooks.com/smallbusinesshelp – 1

Total: 4

Legal

Edgar Snyder edgarsnyder.com, UnitedWay.org , PittsburghFoundation.org – 1
Goldberg, Persky & White gpwlaw.com – 1
GoodbyeDebt.com Steidl & Steinberg – 1

Total: 3

Technology

iRacing iRacing.com – 3
IBM ibm.com – 2
Indeed indeed.com – 1
Xfinity/NASCAR xfinity.com/nascar – 1

Total: 7

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Allegra D allegra.com – 1
Nutro Dog Food nutro.com – 1
Xyzal xyzal.com – 1

Total: 3

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

1:12 PM – 1:47 PM – 35      1:47 PM – 1:50 PM – 3
1:50 PM – 1:52 PM – 2      1:52 PM – 1:55 PM – 3
1:55 PM – 1:59 PM – 4      1:59 PM – 2:01 PM – 2
2:01 PM – 2:15 PM – 14      2:15 PM – 2:18 PM – 3
2:18 PM – 2:23 PM – 5      2:23 PM – 2:26 PM – 3
2:26 PM – 2:45 PM – 19       2:45 PM – 2:48 PM – 3
2:48 PM – 3:05 PM – 17      3:05 PM – 3:08 PM – 3
3:08 PM – 3:16 PM – 8      3:16 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 104      Total comm. brdcst time: 20

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 15
(iRacing.com; NASCARFoundation.org/Response; RedCross.org; FeedingAmerica.org; Fox Bet Super 6 app; GoodYear; Geico; USAA; Credit One Bank; Blue Emu; NFL (Steelers vs. Packers) on Fox; ‘America’s Day at the Races’ on FS1; WrestleMania 36 Part 2, & Pre-Show, on FoxSports.com; World of Outlaws at Knoxville Raceway on FS1; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1)