Commercial breakdown: 2020 Coca-Cola 600

Thanks to a rain delay, the Cup race that started on Sunday ended on Monday. However, all laps were run, including a few additional laps in overtime. Those folks longing for a full evening of racing got their wish. For those who like to know precisely how many commercials there were in all of that racing action, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2020 Coca-Cola 600

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 6:05 PM
Rain Delay: 7:21 PM
Resumption of Race: 8:20 PM
End of Race: 12:09 AM
Total minutes of complete broadcast: 305
Minutes of race broadcast: 243
Minutes of traditional commercials: 62
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 10

Total number of commercials: 180
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 86
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 153
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 80
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 27
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 20
Number of times Fox utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 4

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: Geico (10 times); Budweiser (8 times); Toyota (8 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

‘Celebrity Watch Party’ fox.com/celebrity-watch-party – 3
Upcoming Cup race on FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 3
Fox Nation nation.fox.com – 3
‘Big Bang Theory’ and ‘2½ Men’ – 2
Fox fox.com – 1
‘Master Chef’ fox.com/masterchef/ – 1
‘911’ fox.com/9-1-1 and ‘911 Lone Star’ fox.com/9-1-1-lone-star – 1
‘Race Hub’ foxsports.com/nascar/racehub – 1
‘Seinfeld’ & ‘Last One Standing’ – 1
‘Speak for Yourself’ foxsports.com/presspass/latestnews/2016/05/10-/speak-for-yourself-colin-cowherd-and-jason-whitlock-team-up-on-f – 1
‘WWE Smackdown’ fox.com/WWE-Friday-night-smackdown – 1
‘Yellowstone’ paramountnetwork.com/shows/yellowstone – 1

Total: 19

Movies

‘Tenet’ tenetfilm.com – 1
‘Sonic the Hedgehog’ paramountmovies.com/movies/sonic-the-hedgehog – 1

Total: 2

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

NBC local news wpxi.com on Foxfox.com – 2
CochranSuburu.com cochransuburu.com – 1
PNC.com/tech pnc.com/tech – 1

Total: 4

Restaurants/Food

Wendy’s wendys.com – 6
Subway Subway.com – 5
Coca-Cola cocacola.com – 3
McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 3
Marcos Pizza marcos.com – 2
Body Armor drinkbodyarmor.com/ #DrinkBodyArmor – 2
Coke Zero cokezero.com/ – 1
KFC kfc.com/ – 1
Little Caesars littlecaesars.com – 1
Oscar Mayer oscarmayer.com – 1
Pizza Hut pizzahut.com/ – 1

Total: 26

Beer/Alcohol

Budweiser budweiser.com – 8
Jack Daniels jackdaniels.com – 2
Twisted Tea twistedtea.com – 1

Total: 11

Car/Truck/Bike

Toyota toyota.com – 6
Armor All facebook.com/armorall – 4
Dodge DriveForwardFCA.com – 4
GoodYear goodyear.com (Dale Earnhardt Jr.) – 3
Ford ford.com – 2
ChevyCares.com – 2
ShopHonda.com shophonda.com – 1
WeatherTech.com weathertech.com – 1

Total: 23

Insurance/Health

Geico.com geico.com – 6
USAA.com/coronavirus usaa.com/coronavirus – 4
Liberty Mutual libertymutual.com – 3
Coronavirus.gov – 1
CoronaVirus.org #AloneTogether – 1
Geico.com/GiveBack geico.com/giveback – 1
Progressive progressive.com – 1
Real Heroes Project theheroesproject.org – 1

Total: 18

Home Improvement

ACE Hardware ACEHardware.com – 1

Total: 1

Financial

Experian.com/boost experian.com/boost – 2
Ally Bank allybank.com (Jimmie Johnson) #OneFinalTime – 1
Bank of America bankofamerica.com/ – 1

Total: 4

Technology

Amazon amazon.com – 2
IBM ibm.com – 2
PokerStars.com – 2
Xfinity/NASCAR xfinity.com/nascar – 2
Comcast Business Class business.comcast.com/ – 1
DraftKings.com draftkings.com – 1
Fan Duel fanduel.com – 1
Tubi tubitv.com – 1
Verizon/ready verizon.com/ready – 1

Total: 13

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Duracell duracell.com/ – 4
Tide tide.com – 2
Blue Emu blue-emu.com (Rusty Wallace) – 2
Gain ilovegain.com – 2
Skyrizi skyrizi.com – 2
Allegra allegra.com – 2
Bass Pro Shops BassPro.com & Cabela’s cabelas.com – 1
Bounce bouncefresh.com – 1
Casper Mattress casper.com 1
Downy Unstoppables downy.com – 1
Downy Wrinkle Guard downy.com – 1
Entresto.com entresto.com – 1
Get Roman getroman.com/tv – 1
Icy Hot icyhot.com – 1
Old Spice oldspice.com – 1
SaveonSymbicort.com saveonsymbicort.com – 1
Tide Hope.TideCleaners.com – 1

Total: 25

Shipping

FedEx fedex.com/ – 1

Total: 1

Military

NavyFederal.org navyfederal.org – 2
USO.org uso.org – 1

Total: 3

Political/Special Interest

Donald Trump donaldtrump.com – 1

Total: 1

Racing Related

NASCAR.com/Shop nascar.com/shop – 2

Total: 2

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

6:05 PM – 6:12 PM – 7     6:12 PM – 6:13 PM – 1
6:13 PM – 6:19 PM – 6      6:19 PM – 6:21 PM – 2
6:21 PM – 6:36 PM – 15      6:36 PM – 6:39 PM – 3
6:39 PM – 6:46 PM – 7      6:46 PM – 6:49 PM – 3
6:49 PM – 6:58 PM – 9      6:58 PM – 7:00 PM – 2
7:00 PM – 7:03 PM – 3      7:03 PM – 7:06 PM – 3
7:06 PM – 7:21 PM – 15      7:21 PM – Rain Delay
————–Rain Delay——————–
8:20 PM – 8:24 PM – 4      8:24 PM – 8:26 PM – 2
8:26 PM – 8:35 PM – 9      8:35 PM – 8:37 PM – 2
8:37 PM – 8:51 PM – 14      8:51 PM – 8:54 PM – 3
8:54 PM – 8:59 PM – 5      8:59 PM – 9:01 PM – 2
9:01 PM – 9:09 PM – 8      9:09 PM – 9:11 PM – 2
9:11 PM – 9:17 PM – 6      9:17 PM – 9:20 PM – 3
9:20 PM – 9:26 PM – 6      9:26 PM – 9:28 PM – 2
9:28 PM – 9:36 PM – 8      9:36 PM – 9:39 PM – 3
9:39 PM – 9:52 PM – 13      9:52 PM – 9:55 PM – 3
9:55 PM – 10:03 PM – 8      10:03 PM – 10:06 PM – 3
10:06 PM – 10:16 PM – 10      10:16 PM – 10:19 PM – 3
10:19 PM – 10:25 PM – 6       10:25 PM – 10:28 PM – 3
10:28 PM – 10:37 PM – 9       10:37 PM – 10:39 PM – 2
10:39 PM – 10:45 PM – 6       10:45 PM – 10:48 PM – 3
10:48 PM – 11:00 PM – 12      11:00 PM – 11:04 PM – 4
11:04 PM – 11:06 PM – 2      11:06 PM – 11:09 PM – 3
11:09 PM – 11:15 PM – 6      11:15 PM – 11:18 PM – 3
11:18 PM – 11:27 PM – 9      11:27 PM – 11:29 PM – 2
11:29 PM – 12:09 PM – 40      12:09 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 243      Total comm. brdcst time: 62

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 33
(Coca-Cola, USO.org, RedCross.org, #WeLoveThisPlace @cocacola ; @NASCARNation ; HonorandRemember.org ; Fox Bet Super 6 app; Monster Energy; Hunt Bros. Pizza; McDonald’s;  Subway; Pizza Hut; Body Armor; Chevy, ChevyCares.com; Ford Performance; Toyota, TRD; Dodge Ram; GoodYear; Geico; Progressive; USAA PoppyinMemory.com ; Credit One Bank; Bank of America; Navy Federal Credit Union; Credible.com ; Tide; Blue Emu; ‘WWE Smackdown’ on Fox; ‘Ultimate Tag’ on Fox; Xfinity; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; upcoming GMTS race; upcoming Xfinity race; upcoming Cup race)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

8:43 PM – 8:46 PM
Geico; Toyota; FeedingAmerica.org/coronavirus and NASCAR.com; GetRoman.com/nascar ; KFC; Busch, Coca-Cola, Geico, Xfinity; ‘WWE Smackdown’ on Fox

9:45 PM – 9:47 PM
Progressive; TheHeroesProject.org ; upcoming Cup race; ‘Ultimate Tag’ on Fox; ‘WWE Smackdown’ on Fox

11:43 PM – 11:45 PM
Toyota; Progressive; Xfinity.com/nascar ; KFC; upcoming Cup race; upcoming Xfinity race

11:51 PM – 11:54 PM
Ford; Geico; HooterstoGo.com (Chase Elliott); ‘Ultimate Tag’ on Fox; CoronaVirus.gov ; upcoming Cup race

1 thought on “Commercial breakdown: 2020 Coca-Cola 600”

Comments are closed.