Commercial breakdown: 2019 Pocono 400

Whether they are irritating interruptions, or chances for folks to run for more snacks, commercials are a reality for NASCAR fans on race day. For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2019 Pocono 400

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 1:42 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 5:01 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 199
Minutes of race broadcast: 157
Minutes of traditional commercials: 42
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 6

Total number of commercials: 117
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 72
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 102
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 65
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 15
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 12
Number of times FS1 utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 3

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast:  Geico (6 times); McDonald’s (4 times); Mobil 1 (4 times) 

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

US Open Golf on Fox foxsports.com/golf – 3
‘Yellowstone’ paramountnetwork.com/shows/yellowstone – 2
Baseball on Fox Sports foxsports.com/mlb – 2
Soccer on Fox Sports foxsports.com/soccer – 2
‘First Responders’ fox.com/first-responders – 1
‘First Things First’ on FS1 foxsports.com/presspass/shows-properties/show/first-things-first – 1
Fox News foxnews.com – 1
‘Master Chef’ fox.com/masterchef/ – 1

Total: 13

Movies

‘Child’s Play’ bestbudd.com – 1

Total: 1

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

Joseph A. Bank Josbank.com – 1

Total: 1

Restaurants/Food

McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 4
Coca-Cola cocacola.com – 3
Dave & Busters daveandbusters.com – 2
Dominos dominos.com – 2
Hooters hooters.com (Chase Elliott) – 2
KFC kfc.com/ – 2
Pepsi pepsi.com – 2
Applebees applebees.com – 1
Burger King burgerking.com – 1
Coca-Cola and FIFA Women’s Cup – 1
Marcos Pizza marcos.com – 1
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 1
Oscar Mayer oscarmayer.com (Ryan Newman) – 1
Outback outback.com – 1
Pizza Hut pizzahut.com/ – 1
TGIFriday’s tgifridays.com/ – 1

Total: 26

Beer/Alcohol

Busch busch.com – 1

Total: 1

Car/Truck/Bike

Mobil 1 mobil1.us (Kevin Harvick) – 4
Chevy chevy.com – 3
Dodge dodge.com – 2
RamTrucks.com ramtrucks.com – 2
GoodYear goodyear.com (Dale Earnhardt Jr.) #MakeAName – 2
Sunoco sunocoinc.com – 2
GMCDealer.com gmcdealer.com – 1
JohnDeere.com/gator johndeere.com/gator – 1
Kawasaki.com kawasaki.com – 1
Pennzoil Pennzoil.com – 1
Toyota toyota.com – 1

Total: 20

Insurance/Health

Geico.com geico.com – 5
Allstate allstate.com – 2
Esurance.com esurance.com – 2
Liberty Mutual libertymutual.com – 2
State Farm statefarm.com – 1

Total: 12

Wireless Phone

Cricket mycricket.com – 2
AT&T att.com/ – 1

Total: 3

Home Improvement

Kioti tractors kioti.com – 1
Lowes lowes.com – 1

Total: 2

Financial

Ally Bank allybank.com (Jimmie Johnson) #chasing8 – 1
Rocket Mortgage rocketmortgage.com – 1

Total: 2

Legal

KnightLine Legal knightlinelegal.com – 2
ChurchFundLawyers.com 800-894-7118 – 1

Total: 3

Technology

Turo turo.com – 1

Total: 1

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Allegra allegra.com – 2
Aspercreme aspercreme.com – 2
SaveonSymbicort.com saveonsymbicort.com – 2
Dulcolax dulcolax.com – 2
Bounce bouncefresh.com – 1
DXL.com – 1
Gold Bond goldbond.com – 1
Icy Hot icyhot.com – 1
Keeps.com – 1
KinektDesign.com kinektdesign.com – 1

Total: 14

Travel

Hilton.com hilton.com – 2
West Virginia Tourism wvtourism.com – 1

Total: 3

Racing Related

SonomaRaceway.com sonomaraceway.com – 1
Summit Motorsports Park smptix.com and NHRA nhra.com – 1

Total: 2

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

1:42 PM – 1:45 PM – 3      1:45 PM – 1:48 PM – 3
1:48 PM – 1:51 PM – 3      1:51 PM – 1:54 PM – 3
1:54 PM – 2:11 PM – 17      2:11 PM – 2:14 PM – 3
2:14 PM – 2:25 PM – 11      2:25 PM – 2:28 PM – 3
2:28 PM – 2:35 PM – 7      2:35 PM – 2:39 PM – 4
2:39 PM – 2:46 PM – 7      2:46 PM – 2:49 PM – 3
2:49 PM – 3:00 PM – 11      3:00 PM – 3:04 PM – 4
3:04 PM – 3:10 PM – 6      3:10 PM – 3:13 PM – 3
3:13 PM – 3:16 PM – 3      3:16 PM – 3:19 PM – 3
3:19 PM – 3:28 PM – 9      3:28 PM – 3:31 PM – 3
3:31 PM – 3:36 PM – 5      3:36 PM – 3:38 PM – 2
3:38 PM – 3:57 PM – 19      3:57 PM – 4:00 PM – 3
4:00 PM – 4:02 PM – 2      4:02 PM – 4:05 PM – 3
4:05 PM – 4:48 PM – 43      4:48 PM – 4:50 PM – 2
4:50 PM – 5:01 PM – 11      5:01 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 157      Total comm. brdcst time: 42

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 22
(Monster Energy; Outback; Hooters; Kroger; Coca-Cola; Busch Beer @BuschBeer #Dad2Daytona #contest ; Chevy; Ford Performance; Toyota, TRD; Sunoco; GoodYear; Geico; Credit One Bank; Xfinity; ‘WWE Smackdown Live’ on Fox; FIFA Women’s Cup on Fox/FS1; US Open on Fox/FS1; Baseball on Fox; iracing.com; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; upcoming Xfinity race; upcoming Cup race)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

3:46 PM – 3:48 PM
#NASCARSalutes NASCAR.com/Tickets upcoming Cup race; Toyota; GoCreditOne.com ; Bass Pro Shops & Cabela’s; NASCAR.com/Shop; #NASCARSalutes NASCAR.com/Tickets upcoming Cup race

4:15 PM – 4:17 PM
Gander Outdoors Truck Series upcoming race NASCAR.com/Trucks; Busch Beer @BuschBeer #Dad2Daytona #contest ; Geico; KFC

4:27 PM – 4:29 PM
#NASCARSalutes NASCAR.com/Tickets upcoming Cup race; Ram Trucks; Progressive; upcoming Xfinity Series race; #NASCARSalutes NASCAR.com/Tickets upcoming Cup race