Commercial breakdown: 2019 Monster Energy Open & Monster Energy All Star Race

Whether they are irritating interruptions, or chances for folks to run for more snacks, commercials are a reality for NASCAR fans on race day. For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2019 Monster Energy Open & Monster Energy All Star Race

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 6:06 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 10:13 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 247
Minutes of race broadcast: 198
Minutes of traditional commercials: 49
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 7

Total number of commercials: 154
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 72
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 140
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 72
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 14
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 9
Number of times FS1 utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 3

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast:  upcoming Cup race on Fox Sports (8 times); KFC (6 times); Coca-Cola (6 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 4
Soccer on Fox Sports foxsports.com/soccer – 3
Boxing on Fox Sports foxsports.com/boxing – 3
‘Beat Shazam’ fox.com/beat-shazam – 2
Fox News foxnews.com – 2
‘Master Chef’ fox.com/masterchef/ – 2
US Open Golf on Fox foxsports.com/golf – 2
Baseball on Fox Sports foxsports.com/mlb – 2
Upcoming Xfinity race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 1

Total: 21

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

SpitzerToyota.com spitzertoyota.com – 3
PNC.com pnc.com – 2
Delaney Hyundai – 1

Total: 6

Restaurants/Food

KFC kfc.com/ – 6
Coca-Cola cocacola.com – 6
McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 4
Applebees applebees.com – 2
Dave & Busters daveandbusters.com – 1
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 1
Pizza Hut pizzahut.com/ – 1
TGIFriday’s tgifridays.com/ – 1

Total: 22

Beer/Alcohol

Jack Daniels jackdaniels.com – 4
Twisted Tea twistedtea.com – 3
White Claw Hard Seltzer whiteclaw.com/ – 2
Busch busch.com – 1

Total: 10

Car/Truck/Bike

Alfa Romeo alfaromeousa.com – 5
Chevy chevy.com – 4
Safe Lite safelite.com – 3
Exxon Mobil mobil.com – 2
Ford ford.com – 2
GMCDealer.com gmcdealer.com – 2
Kawasaki.com kawasaki.com – 2
ChooseNissan.com choosenissan.com – 2
Pennzoil Pennzoil.com – 2
Dodge dodge.com – 1
Neighborhood Ford Store neighborhoodfordstore.com – 1
Jeep jeep.com – 1
NAPA napaonline.com/ – 1
Shell Rotella Rotella.com/gastruck – 1
Sunoco sunocoinc.com – 1

Total: 30

Insurance/Health

Progressive progressive.com – 2
Geico.com geico.com – 2
Allstate allstate.com – 1
Highmark TogetherForHealth.com togetherforhealth.com – 1
Liberty Mutual libertymutual.com – 1

Total: 7

Wireless Phone

Cricket mycricket.com – 2

Total: 2

Home Improvement

Behr Paint behr.com/ at Home Depot homedepot.com – 2
Kioti tractors kioti.com – 2
Lowes lowes.com – 1
StihlDealers.com stihldealers.com #RealStihl – 1

Total: 6

Financial

Ally Bank allybank.com (Jimmie Johnson) #chasing8 – 1
GoCreditOne gocreditone.com – 1
Rocket Mortgage rocketmortgage.com – 1

Total: 3

Technology

Amazon Prime amazon.com/prime – 1
Comcast comcast.com – 1
Dell.com dell.com/ – 1
Xfinity.com xfinity.com – 1

Total: 4

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Allegra D allegra.com – 2
Bass Pro Shops BassPro.com & Cabela’scabelas.com – 2
Feliway.com feliway.com – 2
Mattress Firm mattressfirm.com – 2
Nasacort nasacort.com – 2
Skechers skechers.com – 2
Tide tide.com – 1
Xeljanz Xeljanz.com – 1
Aspercreme aspercreme.com – 1
Icy Hot icyhot.com – 1
Invisalign Invisalign.com – 1
Old Spice oldspice.com – 1

Total: 18

Travel

Hilton.com hilton.com – 4
Walt Disney World disneyworld.disney.go.com – 2
West Virginia Tourism wvtourism.com – 1

Total: 7

Military

National Guard nationalguard.com – 2
U.S. Army goarmy.com/warriors – 1

Total: 3

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

6:06 PM – 6:07 PM – 1      6:07 PM – 6:10 PM – 3
6:10 PM – 6:32 PM – 22      6:32 PM – 6:34 PM – 2
6:34 PM – 6:39 PM – 5      6:39 PM – 6:41 PM – 2
6:41 PM – 6:59 PM – 18      6:59 PM – 7:01 PM – 2
7:01 PM – 7:07 PM – 6      7:07 PM – 7:09 PM – 2
7:09 PM – 7:18 PM – 9      7:18 PM – 7:20 PM – 2
7:20 PM – 7:31 PM – 11      7:31 PM – 7:34 PM – 3
7:34 PM – 7:39 PM – 5      7:39 PM – 7:42 PM – 3
7:42 PM – 7:45 PM – 3      7:45 PM – 7:47 PM – 2
7:47 PM – 7:50 PM – 3      7:50 PM – 7:53 PM – 3
7:53 PM – 8:05 PM – 12      8:05 PM – 8:08 PM – 3
8:08 PM – 8:15 PM – 7      8:15 PM – 8:18 PM – 3
8:18 PM – 8:22 PM – 4      8:22 PM – 8:24 PM – 2
8:24 PM – 8:29 PM – 5       8:29 PM – 8:31 PM – 2
8:31 PM – 8:59 PM – 28       8:59 PM – 9:01 PM – 2
9:01 PM – 9:02 PM – 1      9:02 PM – 9:05 PM – 3
9:05 PM – 9:20 PM – 15      9:20 PM – 9:23 PM – 3
9:23 PM – 9:25 PM – 2      9:25 PM – 9:28 PM – 3
9:28 PM – 9:44 PM – 16      9:44 PM – 9:46 PM – 2
9:46 PM – 9:48 PM – 2      9:48 PM – 9:50 PM – 2
9:50 PM – 10:13 PM – 23      10:13 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 198      Total comm. brdcst time: 49

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 24
(Monster Energy; ebay.com/USR/SPAKERS The Ironman Foundation ironmanfoundation.org ; Kroger; Outback; Hunt Bros. Pizza; McDonald’s; Pizza Hut; Coca-Cola; Busch Beer @BuschBeer #MillennialCar #SquadGoals ; Chevy; Ford Performance; Toyota; Sunoco; GoodYear; Geico; Progressive; Credit One Bank; FIFA Women’s Cup on Fox Sports; US Open on Fox/FS1; Baseball on Fox Sports; ‘WWE Smackdown Live’ on Fox; ‘NASCAR Heat 3’ video game; ‘NASCAR Race Hub’ on FS1; upcoming Cup race)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

8:43 PM – 8:45 PM
Busch Beer @BuschBeer #MillennialCar ; Dodge; upcoming Cup race NASCAR.com/Tickets; US Open on Fox/FS1; upcoming Cup race on Fox

9:15 PM – 9:18 PM
upcoming Cup race NASCAR.com/Tickets; Busch Beer; Geico; FIFA Women’s Cup on Fox/FS1

9:34 PM – 9:36 PM
NASCAR/Tickets; Ford; Hilton.com; upcoming Cup race on Fox; upcoming Xfinity race