Commercial breakdown: 2019 Gander RV 400

Whether they are irritating interruptions, or chances for folks to run for more snacks, commercials are a reality for NASCAR fans on race day. For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown. The race ran for 22 minutes on Sunday before being called for a rain postponement; then ran 193 minutes on Monday, until its completion.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2019 Gander RV 400

Sunday, May 05:
Start time to record race/commercial periods: 3:45 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 4:07 PM
Monday, May 06:
Start time to record race/commercial periods: 12:03 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 3:16 PM

Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 215
Minutes of race broadcast: 178
Minutes of traditional commercials: 37
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 9

Total number of commercials: 105
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 56
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 86
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 53
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 19
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 15
Number of times FS1 utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast:  4

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast:   Hilton.com (6 times); Ford (6 times); Marcos Pizza (4 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 2
US Open Golf on Fox foxsports.com/golf – 2
Boxing on Fox Sports foxsports.com/boxing – 2
Upcoming Gander Outdoors Truck race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 1
Stanley Cup Playoffs on NHL Network – 1
‘Empire’ fox.com/empire – 1
Fox News foxnews.com – 1
‘Skip & Shannon Undisputed’ foxsports.com/presspass/shows-properties/show/skip-and-shannon-undisputed – 1

Total: 11

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

‘Rocktopia’ at Carnegie Music Hall of Homestead rocktopia.com/spring-tour – 1

Total: 1

Restaurants/Food

Marcos Pizza marcos.com – 4
Applebees applebees.com – 2
Coca-Cola Orange Vanilla us.coca-cola.com/flavors/ – 2
Pizza Hut pizzahut.com/ – 2
Dominos dominos.com – 1
Golden Corral goldencorral.com/ – 1
KFC kfc.com/ – 1
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 1

Total: 14

Beer/Alcohol

Twisted Tea twistedtea.com – 2

Total: 2

Car/Truck/Bike

Ford ford.com – 5
RamTrucks.com ramtrucks.com – 3
Chevy chevy.com – 2
H-D.com/TestRide h-d.com/testride – 2
Toyota toyota.com – 2
Alfa Romeo Giulia alfaromeousa.com/cars/alfa-romeo-giulia-quadrifoglio – 1
Can-Am Off Road can-am.brp.com/off-road – 1
GoodYear goodyear.com (Dale Earnhardt Jr.) #MakeAName – 1
Safe Lite safelite.com – 1
Shell Rotella Rotella.com/gastruck – 1
Sunoco sunocoinc.com – 1
Toyota Corolla toyota.com/corolla – 1

Total: 21

Insurance/Health

Geico.com geico.com – 3
AAA aaa.com – 1
Allstate allstate.com – 1
Liberty Mutual libertymutual.com – 1
Progressive progressive.com – 1

Total: 7

Wireless Phone

Cricket mycricket.com – 1
Xfinity Mobile xfinitymobile.com – 1

Total: 2

Home Improvement

Kioti tractors kioti.com – 1

Total: 1

Education

Academy of Art University AcademyArt.edu/career – 1

Total: 1

Technology

Xfinity.com xfinity.com – 2
Amazon amazon.com – 1
Nordvpn nordvpn.com/tv – 1
‘Toon Blast’ facebook.com/toonblast – 1
Turo turo.com – 1

Total: 6

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Allegra D allegra.com – 2
Nasacort nasacort.com – 2
Tempur-Pedic tempurpedic.com – 2
Gander Outdoors ganderoutdoors.com/ – 2
Bosley bosley.com – 1
Dulcolax dulcolax.com – 1
Farxiga.com farxiga.com – 1
Keeps.com – 1
Xeljanz Xeljanz.com – 1

Total: 13

Travel

Hilton.com hilton.com – 5

Total: 5

Racing Related

Gander Outdoors Truck Series nascar.com/trucks – 1
NASCAR.com/tickets nascar.com/tickets – 1

Total: 2

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

Sunday, May 05
3:45 PM – 3:48 PM – 3      3:48 PM – 3:50 PM – 2
3:50 PM – 3:55 PM – 5      3:55 PM – 3:57 PM – 2
3:57 PM – 4:07 PM – 10      4:07 PM – Rain Postponement

Monday, May 06
12:03 PM – 12:14 PM – 11      12:14 PM – 12:16 PM – 2
12:16 PM – 12:26 PM – 10      12:26 PM – 12:29 PM – 3
12:29 PM – 12:35 PM – 6     12:35 PM – 12:37 PM – 2
12:37 PM – 12:42 PM – 5      12:42 PM – 12:44 PM – 2
12:44 PM – 12:55 PM – 11      12:55 PM – 12:58 PM – 3
12:58 PM – 1:06 PM – 8      1:06 PM – 1:09 PM – 3
1:09 PM – 1:12 PM – 3      1:12 PM – 1:15 PM – 3
1:15 PM – 1:23 PM – 8      1:23 PM – 1:25 PM – 2
1:25 PM – 1:31 PM – 6      1:31 PM – 1:34 PM – 3
1:34 PM – 2:02 PM – 28      2:02 PM – 2:05 PM – 3
2:05 PM – 2:08 PM – 3      2:08 PM – 2:11 PM – 3
2:11 PM – 2:20 PM – 9      2:20 PM – 2:22 PM – 2
2:22 PM – 2:30 PM – 8      2:30 PM – 2:32 PM – 2
2:32 PM – 3:16 PM – 44      3:16 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 178 Total comm. brdcst time: 37

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 27
(Drive for Autism delautism.org ; Monster Energy; Pizza Hut; Jimmy John’s; Kroger; Outback; Coca-Cola, Orange-Vanilla Coca-Cola; Twisted Tea; Chevy; Ford; Toyota, TRD; Ram Trucks; John Deere; Sunoco; GoodYear; Geico; Credit One Bank; Duracell; Gander RV; FIFA Women’s Cup Soccer on Fox Sports; PBC on Fox Sports; ‘WWE Smackdown’ on Fox; ‘Race Day’ on FS1; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; upcoming Gander Outdoors Truck Series race; upcoming Xfinity race; upcoming Cup series race)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

12:51 PM – 12:53 PM
Charlotte Motor Speedway charlottemotorspeedway.com NASCAR.com/Tickets #CocaCola600 ; Chevy; Geico; upcoming Cup race NASCAR.com/Tickets

1:44 PM – 1:46 PM
NASCAR.com/Tickets; Toyota; Orange-Vanilla Coca-Cola; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; upcoming Cup race

2:51 PM – 2:54 PM
Hilton.com; Ram Trucks; Outback; NASCAR.com/Tickets upcoming Gander Outdoors Truck Series race

3:03 PM – 3:05 PM
Upcoming Cup race NASCAR.com; Ford; KFC; Busch Beer; NASCAR.com/Tickets; upcoming Xfinity race