Commercial breakdown: 2019 Federated Auto Parts 400

Whether they are irritating interruptions, or chances for folks to run for more snacks, commercials are a reality for NASCAR fans on race day. For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2019 Federated Auto Parts 400

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 7:30 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 10:44 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 194
Minutes of race broadcast: 160
Minutes of traditional commercials: 34
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 10

Total number of commercials: 108
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 56
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 78
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 49
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 30
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 21
Number of times NBCSN utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 5

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: upcoming Cup race (4 times); Pizza Hut (4 times); Sonic (4 times); Wendy’s (4 times); Toyota (4 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

NBC/TV Previews/Promos:

Upcoming Cup race on NBC/NBC Sports – 3
Sunday Night Football on NBC/NBC Sports – 2
Soccer on NBCSNnbcsports.com/soccer – 2
NFL ‘Huddle for 100’ nfl.com/100/huddlefor100/info #NFLHuddlefor100 – 1
IndyCar indycar.com on NBC – 1
Thursday Night Football on Fox Sports – 1
College Football on NBC/NBC Sports – 1
NHL on NBC/NBC Sports nbcsports.com/nhl – 1
‘Morning Joe’ on MSNBC – 1
‘The Voice’ nbc.com/the-voice and ‘Bluff City Law’ nbc.com/bluff-city-law – 1

Total: 14

Movies

‘Ready, Set, Race’ Paw Patrol pawpatrol.fandom.com – 1

Total: 1

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

Cochran cochran.com – 1
Shults Ford shultsford.com – 1

Total: 2

Restaurants/Food

Gold Peak Tea goldpeakbeverages.com – 3
IHOP ihop.com – 2
Pizza Hut pizzahut.com/ – 2
Sonic sonicdrivein.com – 2
Taco Bell tacobell.com – 2
Wendy’s wendys.com – 2
McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 1
Coca-Cola cocacola.com – 1
Golden Corral goldencorral.com/ – 1

Total: 16

Car/Truck/Bike

Chevy chevy.com – 3
Ford ford.com – 3
Honda Talon ATV honda.com – 2
JohnDeere.com/gator johndeere.com/gator – 2
Mobil 1 mobil1.us (Clint Bowyer, Kevin Harvick) – 2
Buyatoyota.com buyatoyota.com – 1
Toyota toyota.com – 1
Buick buick.com – 1
RamTrucks.com ramtrucks.com – 1
GoodYear goodyear.com (Dale Earnhardt Jr.) #MakeAName – 1

Total: 17

Insurance/Health

American Foundation for the Blind AFB.org – 2
Geico.com geico.com – 2
Progressive progressive.com – 2

Total: 6

Financial

USAA usaa.com/bank – 2
Ameriprise ameriprise.com – 1

Total: 3

Education

Universal Technical Institute UTI.edu – 1

Total: 1

Legal

Berger and Green bergerandgreen.com – 1

Total: 1

Technology

Amazon Prime amazon.com/prime – 3
Fan Duel fanduel.com – 2
Borderlands 3 video game borderlands.com – 1
GolfNow.com – 1

Total: 7

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

SaveonSymbicort.com saveonsymbicort.com – 3
Flonase flonase.com – 2
ACT mouthwash actflouride.com – 1
Aspercreme aspercreme.com – 1
Energy Transfer energytransfer.com – 1
Jardiance.com jardiance.com – 1

Total: 9

Travel

Marriott.com #GoldenRule – 1

Total: 1

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

7:30 PM – 7:32 PM – 2      7:32 PM – 7:35 PM – 3
7:35 PM – 7:38 PM – 3      7:38 PM – 7:40 PM – 2
7:40 PM – 7:52 PM – 12      7:52 PM – 7:55 PM – 3
7:55 PM – 8:00 PM – 5      8:00 PM – 8:03 PM – 3
8:03 PM – 8:09 PM – 6      8:09 PM – 8:11 PM – 2
8:11 PM – 8:17 PM – 6      8:17 PM – 8:19 PM – 2
8:19 PM – 8:27 PM – 8      8:27 PM – 8:29 PM – 2
8:29 PM – 8:30 PM – 1      8:30 PM – 8:32 PM – 2
8:32 PM – 8:37 PM – 5      8:37 PM – 8:38 PM – 1
8:38 PM – 8:45 PM – 7      8:45 PM – 8:47 PM – 2
8:47 PM – 8:53 PM – 6      8:53 PM – 8:55 PM – 2
8:55 PM – 9:13 PM – 18      9:13 PM – 9:15 PM – 2
9:15 PM – 9:16 PM – 1      9:16 PM – 9:18 PM – 2
9:18 PM – 9:26 PM – 8      9:26 PM – 9:27 PM – 1
9:27 PM – 9:36 PM – 9      9:36 PM – 9:38 PM – 2
9:38 PM – 9:46 PM – 8      9:46 PM – 9:47 PM – 1
9:47 PM – 10:09 PM – 22      10:09 PM – 10:11 PM – 2
10:11 PM – 10:44 PM – 33      10:44 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 160      Total comm. brdcst time: 34

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 24
(Monster Energy; Hunt Bros. Pizza; Kroger; Burger King; Wendy’s; Ford Performance, Ford Explorer; Toyota; Ram Trucks; Sunoco; GoodYear; Mobil 1; Geico; Credit One Bank; ACE Hardware; Best Western; Harlem Globetrotters harlemglobetrotters.com ; Indy Car race on NBC; Sunday Night Football on NBC; NBC Sports on Sirius/XM NASCAR Radio channel 90; ‘Dale Jr. Download’ dalejr.com ; ‘NASCAR America – Motor Mouths’ on NBCSN; NASCAR.com/Drive; NASCAR.com/Scanner; NASCAR.com/Mobile; ‘After-Race Coverage’, ‘Proving Grounds’ on NBCSN; upcoming Cup race)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

9:02 PM – 9:04 PM
McDonald’s; McDonald’s; Toyota; Busch Beer; Sunoco; upcoming Cup race

9:54 PM – 9:56 PM
Chevy; Wendy’s; Marriott #GoldenRule ; WeatherTech.com; Wendy’s; DoverSpeedway.com

10:04 PM – 10:06 PM
Coca-Cola; Pizza Hut; Mobil 1 (Kevin Harvick, Clint Bowyer); FanDuel.com; Pizza Hut; TalladegaSuperSpeedway.com

10:17 PM – 10:19 PM
Toyota; Sonic; Coca-Cola; Geico; Sonic; Sunday Night Football on NBC Sports; IndyCar on NBC

10:25 PM – 10:27 PM
Chevy; Ally Bank; Mountain Dew; Sunoco; Marriott #GoldenRule