Commercial breakdown: 2019 Digital Ally 400

Whether they are irritating interruptions, or chances for folks to run for more snacks, commercials are a reality for NASCAR fans on race day. For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2019 Digital Ally 400

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 7:35 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 10:59 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 204
Minutes of race broadcast: 164
Minutes of traditional commercials: 40
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 9

Total number of commercials: 114
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 55
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 95
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 52
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 19
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 15
Number of times FS1 utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 4

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: NASCAR Cup Series (10 times); Orange-Vanilla Coca-Cola (6 times); Ford (6 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

Upcoming Cup race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 5
Upcoming Gander Outdoors Truck race on Fox/FS1 foxsports.com/nascar – 2
‘Beat Shazam’ fox.com/beat-shazam – 2
Baseball on Fox Sports foxsports.com/mlb – 1
Soccer on Fox Sports foxsports.com/soccer – 1

Total: 11

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

PNC.com pnc.com – 3
Bush Ford bushford.com – 1
Shults Ford shultsford.com – 1

Total: 5

Restaurants/Food

McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 5
Coca-Cola Orange Vanilla us.coca-cola.com/flavors/ – 5
Applebees applebees.com – 2
Dr. Pepper drpepper.com – 2
KFC kfc.com/ – 2
Marcos Pizza marcos.com – 1
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 1

Total: 18

Beer/Alcohol

Jack Daniels jackdaniels.com – 3
White Claw Hard Seltzer whiteclaw.com/ – 3
Twisted Tea twistedtea.com – 2
Mike’s Hard Lemonade mikeshardlemonade.com/ – 1
Busch busch.com – 1

Total: 10

Car/Truck/Bike

Ford ford.com – 4
RamTrucks.com ramtrucks.com – 3
Mobil 1 mobil1.us (Clint Bowyer, Kevin Harvick) – 2
ChooseNissan.com choosenissan.com – 2
Buyatoyota.com buyatoyota.com – 2
GoodYear goodyear.com (Dale Earnhardt Jr.) #MakeAName – 2
Chevy chevy.com – 2
Neighborhood Ford Store neighborhoodfordstore.com – 1
Jeep jeep.com – 1
JohnDeere.com/gator johndeere.com/gator – 1

Total: 20

Insurance/Health

Geico.com geico.com – 1
TheGeneral.com thegeneral.com – 1
LearnAboutPD.com learnaboutpd.com – 1
Liberty Mutual libertymutual.com – 1
Nationwide nationwide.com – 1

Total: 5

Home Improvement

Kioti tractors kioti.com – 2

Total: 2

Financial

Ally Bank allybank.com (Jimmie Johnson) #chasing8 – 1
Prudentialcom prudential.com – 1

Total: 2

Education

Triangle-Tech.edu triangle-tech.edu – 2

Total: 2

Legal

KnightLine Legal knightlinelegal.com – 1

Total: 1

Technology

Amazon Prime amazon.com/prime – 1
DirecTV directv.com – 1
Xfinity.com xfinity.com – 1

Total: 3

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Keeps.com – 2
Nasacort nasacort.com – 2
Feliway.com feliway.com – 2
Allegra allegra.com – 1
Casper Mattress casper.com – 1
InventHelp.com inventhelp.com – 1
Jardiance.com jardiance.com – 1
Xeljanz Xeljanz.com – 1
Xyzal xyzal.com – 1

Total: 12

Travel

Hampton Hampton.com – 3

Total: 3

Racing Related

NASCAR.com/tickets nascar.com/tickets – 1

Total: 1

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

7:35 PM – 7:38 PM – 3      7:38 PM – 7:41 PM – 3
7:41 PM – 7:44 PM – 3      7:44 PM – 7:47 PM – 3
7:47 PM – 7:58 PM – 11      7:58 PM – 8:01 PM – 3
8:01 PM – 8:11 PM – 10      8:11 PM – 8:14 PM – 3
8:14 PM – 8:21 PM – 7      8:21 PM – 8:24 PM – 3
8:24 PM – 8:29 PM – 5       8:29 PM – 8:32 PM – 3
8:32 PM – 8:33 PM – 1       8:33 PM – 8:36 PM – 3
8:36 PM – 8:45 PM – 9      8:45 PM – 8:47 PM – 2
8:47 PM – 8:50 PM – 3      8:50 PM – 8:52 PM – 2
8:52 PM – 9:01 PM – 9       9:01 PM – 9:03 PM – 2
9:03 PM – 9:08 PM – 5      9:08 PM – 9:11 PM – 3
9:11 PM – 9:33 PM – 22      9:33 PM – 9:36 PM – 3
9:36 PM – 9:38 PM – 2      9:38 PM – 9:41 PM – 3
9:41 PM – 10:15 PM – 34      10:15 PM – 10:17 PM – 2
10:17 PM – 10:23 PM – 6      10:23 PM – 10:25 PM – 2
10:25 PM – 10:59 PM – 34      10:59 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 164      Total comm. brdcst time: 40

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 28
(Monster Energy; Pizza Hut; Hunt Bros. Pizza; Outback; Hooters; Kroger; Coca-Cola, orange-vanilla Coca-Cola; Chevy; Ford Performance; Toyota, TRD; Ram Trucks; Sunoco; GoodYear; Geico; Nationwide; Credit One Bank; Duracell; Xfinity; FIFA Women’s Cup on Fox Sports; US Open Golf on Fox/FS1; ‘WWE Smackdown’ on Fox; ‘NASCAR Heat 3’ video game; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; upcoming Gander Outdoors Truck Series race; upcoming ‘Drivers Only’ Xfinity Series Charlotte race; upcoming All Star race; upcoming Coca-Cola 600 race on Fox)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

9:25 PM – 9:27 PM
PoconoRaceway.com NASCAR.com/Tickets; Dodge; Busch Beer; upcoming Coca-Cola 600 race on Fox

9:51 PM – 9:53 PM
Upcoming All Star race; Orange-Vanilla Coca-Cola; Chevy; upcoming Coca-Cola 600 race on Fox; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1

10:00 PM – 10:02 PM
Toyota; Bass Pro Shops & Cabela’s; Geico; NASCAR.com/Tickets; FIFA Women’s Cup on Fox Sports

10:34 PM – 10:37 PM
Upcoming All Star race; Ford; Hampton.com; Baseball on Fox; upcoming Coca-Cola 600 race on Fox