Commercial breakdown: 2019 Coca-Cola 600

Whether they are irritating interruptions, or chances for folks to run for more snacks, commercials are a reality for NASCAR fans on race day. For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2019 Coca-Cola 600

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 6:00 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 11:18 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 318
Minutes of race broadcast: 253
Minutes of traditional commercials: 65
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 14

Total number of commercials: 181
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 70
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 151
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 68
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 30
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 16
Number of times Fox utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 5

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: Ford (7 times); Busch Beer (7 times); McDonald’s (6 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

Fox/FS1

Baseball on Fox Sports foxsports.com/mlb – 3
Soccer on Fox Sports foxsports.com/soccer – 2
‘Master Chef’ fox.com/masterchef/ – 2
US Open Golf on Fox foxsports.com/golf – 2
Boxing on Fox Sports foxsports.com/boxing – 1
‘Big Bang Theory’ – 1
‘The Doctors’ ‘Maury’ ‘2 ½ Men’ – 1
‘First Responders’ fox.com/first-responders – 1
Fox News foxnews.com – 1
‘Maury’, ‘2½ Men’, ‘Big Bang Theory’ – 1
‘Seinfeld’ & ‘Last One Standing’ – 1
‘Spin the Wheel’ fox.com/spin-the-wheel – 1
‘Yellowstone’ paramountnetwork.com/shows/yellowstone – 1

Total: 18

Movies

‘Child’s Play’ bestbudd.com – 1

Total: 1

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

NBC local news wpxi.com on Foxfox.com – 2
PNC.com pnc.com – 2
Giant Eagle Perks GiantEagle.com/perks – 1
Ron Lewis Automotive ronlewisautomotive.com – 1
Western Pennsylvania Acura dealersacura.com – 1

Total: 7

Restaurants/Food

McDonald’s mcdonalds.com – 6
Coca-Cola cocacola.com – 4
Dominos dominos.com – 4
Applebees applebees.com – 4
Buffalo Wild Wings buffalowildwings.com – 4
Outback outback.com – 4
Hooters hooters.com (Chase Elliott) – 2
KFC kfc.com/ – 2
Little Caesars littlecaesars.com – 2
Mountain Dew mountaindew.com/ – 2
Arby’s arbys.com – 1

Total: 35

Beer/Alcohol

Busch busch.com – 5
Twisted Tea twistedtea.com – 4
Budweiser budweiser.com – 1

Total: 10

Car/Truck/Bike

Ford ford.com – 7
Chevy chevy.com – 4
Sunoco sunocoinc.com – 3
Toyota toyota.com – 3
RamTrucks.com ramtrucks.com – 2
GoodYear goodyear.com (Dale Earnhardt Jr.) #MakeAName – 2
JohnDeere.com/gator johndeere.com/gator – 2
Mobil 1 mobil1.us (Kevin Harvick) – 2
CarFax.com carfax.com – 1
ChooseNissan.com choosenissan.com – 1
Buyatoyota.com buyatoyota.com – 1

Total: 28

Insurance/Health

Geico.com geico.com – 4
Progressive progressive.com – 2
Allstate allstate.com – 1

Total: 7

Home Improvement

Kioti tractors kioti.com – 1

Total: 1

Financial

USAA usaa.com/bank – 3
Ally Bank allybank.com (Jimmie Johnson) #chasing8 – 2

Total: 5

Legal

Edgar Snyder edgarsnyder.com – 2

Total: 2

Technology

Amazon Fire TV amazon.com/fire-tv – 2
Ring.com ring.com – 2
Amazon Prime amazon.com/prime – 1
Guardian Protection 1.800.PROTECT – 1
Xfinity.com xfinity.com – 1

Total: 7

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

SaveonSymbicort.com saveonsymbicort.com – 4
Icy Hot icyhot.com – 3
Xyzal xyzal.com – 3
Allegra allegra.com – 3
Cortizone-10 corizone10.com – 2
Farxiga.com farxiga.com – 2
Gold Bond goldbond.com – 2
Waste Management Careers careers.wm.com – 2
Aspercreme aspercreme.com – 1
Entresto.com entresto.com – 1
Gander Outdoors ganderoutdoors.com/ – 1
Mattress Firm mattressfirm.com – 1
Tide tide.com – 1

Total: 26

Travel

Hilton.com hilton.com – 2

Total: 2

Military

USO.org force.uso.org – 1

Total: 1

Racing Related

Michigan International Speedway mispeedway.com #MISpeedway – 1

Total: 1

Race brdcast times:       Comm. brdcast times:

6:00 PM – 6:06 PM – 6      6:06 PM – 6:09 PM – 3
6:09 PM – 6:13 PM – 4      6:13 PM – 6:16 PM – 3
6:16 PM – 6:31 PM – 15      6:31 PM – 6:34 PM – 3
6:34 PM – 6:40 PM – 6      6:40 PM – 6:44 PM – 4
6:44 PM – 6:51 PM – 7      6:51 PM – 6:53 PM – 2
6:53 PM – 6:59 PM – 6      6:59 PM – 7:02 PM – 3
7:02 PM – 7:11 PM – 9      7:11 PM – 7:14 PM – 3
7:14 PM – 7:17 PM – 3      7:17 PM – 7:20 PM – 3
7:20 PM – 7:27 PM – 7      7:27 PM – 7:30 PM – 3
7:30 PM – 7:40 PM – 10      7:40 PM – 7:43 PM – 3
7:43 PM – 7:46 PM – 3      7:46 PM – 7:49 PM – 3
7:49 PM – 8:03 PM – 14      8:03 PM – 8:06 PM – 3
8:06 PM – 8:16 PM – 10      8:16 PM – 8:19 PM – 3
8:19 PM – 8:25 PM – 6      8:25 PM – 8:28 PM – 3
8:28 PM – 8:36 PM – 8      8:36 PM – 8:38 PM – 2
8:38 PM – 8:43 PM – 5      8:43 PM – 8:46 PM – 3
8:46 PM – 8:55 PM – 9      8:55 PM – 8:58 PM – 3
8:58 PM – 9:02 PM – 4      9:02 PM – 9:05 PM – 3
9:05 PM – 9:12 PM – 7      9:12 PM – 9:15 PM – 3
9:15 PM – 9:22 PM – 7      9:22 PM – 9:24 PM – 2
9:24 PM – 9:31 PM – 7      9:31 PM – 9:33 PM – 2
9:33 PM – 9:59 PM – 26      9:59 PM – 10:01 PM – 2
10:01 PM – 10:04 PM – 3      10:04 PM – 10:07 PM – 3
10:07 PM – 11:18 PM – 71      11:18 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 253      Total comm. brdcst time: 65

Number of companies featured during broadcast:  32

(Monster Energy; HonorandRemember.org; McDonald’s; Outback; Kroger; Coca-Cola, Orange-Vanilla Coca-Cola, Coke Zero Sugar; Chevy; Ford Performance, ‘Ford Hall of Fans’ ford.com/nascar ; Toyota, TRD; John Deere; Sunoco; GoodYear; Geico; Progressive; Bass Pro Shops & Cabela’s; Credit One Bank; USAA; Duracell; Xfinity; iracing.com; ‘Spin the Wheel’ on Fox; ‘WWE Smackdown Live’ on Fox; FIFA Women’s Cup on Fox/FS1; PBC on Fox Sports; US Open on Fox/FS1; Baseball on Fox; Fox All Access; ‘NASCAR Heat 3’ video game; ‘Race Hub’ on FS1; ‘Race Day’ on FS1; upcoming Xfinity Series race; upcoming Cup races)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

7:56 PM – 7:59 PM
Busch Beer; KFC; #NASCARSalutes NASCAR.com/Tickets; Gander Outdoor Truck Series; Ram Trucks; Baseball on Fox; NASCAR.com/Tickets

9:42 PM – 9:45 PM
Progressive; Gander Outdoors Truck Series; Baseball on Fox; Chevy; US Open on Fox/FS1; #NASCARSalutes NASCAR.com/Tickets

10:23 PM – 10:26 PM
Toyota; NASCAR.com/Tickets; Hooters9.com (Chase Elliott); Busch Beer; ‘Master Chef’ on Fox; #NASCARSalutes NASCAR.com/Tickets

10:35 PM – 10:37 PM
Toyota; Progressive; Hooters9.com (Chase Elliott); NASCAR.com/Tickets; US Open on Fox/FS1; upcoming Xfinity race

10:52 PM – 10:55 PM
Ford; Geico; #NASCARSalutes NASCAR.com/Tickets; FIFA Women’s Cup on Fox/FS1; NASCAR.com/Tickets