Commercial breakdown: 2019 Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race

Whether they are irritating interruptions, or chances for folks to run for more snacks, commercials are a reality for NASCAR fans on race day. For those who like to know precisely how many there were, and how much time they took during the broadcast, here is this week’s breakdown.

Race and Commercial Breakdown of the 2019 Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race

Start time to record race/commercial periods: 7:30 PM
End time to record race/commercial periods: 10:39 PM
Total minutes of complete race broadcast: 189
Minutes of race broadcast: 156
Minutes of traditional commercials: 33
Minutes of side-by-side commercials: 12

Total number of commercials: 105
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 48
Total number of traditional commercials (not split-screen): 76
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 39
Total number of ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast (split-screen): 29
Total number of companies or entities advertised: 25
Number of times NBCSN utilized ‘Side-by-Side’ commercials during the broadcast: 5

Companies seen the most in commercials during this broadcast: Thursday Night Football on NBC Sports (7 times); Pizza Hut (5 times); Corona beer (5 times); Coca-Cola (4 times); Sonic (4 times); Chevy (4 times); Toyota (4 times); Ram Trucks (4 times); Geico (4 times); Fan Duel (4 times)

Breakdown of what the commercials were, by category:

NBC/TV Previews/Promos:

Thursday Night Football on NBC/NBC Sports – 6
IndyCar indycar.com on NBC/NBC Sports – 2
‘New Amsterdam’ nbc.com/new-amsterdam – 2
Olympics on NBC nbcolympics.com – 2
‘Straight Up Steve Austin’ usanetwork.com – 2
Upcoming Cup race on NBC/NBC Sports – 1
Soccer on NBCSNnbcsports.com/soccer – 1

Total: 16

Local News/Sports/Points-of-Interest in Penna.

Troy-Alan Buick troyalanbuick.com – 2
CochranSuburu.com cochransuburu.com – 1
Sendell Suburu sendellsuburu.com – 1
Shults Ford shultsford.com – 1

Total: 5

Restaurants/Food

Applebees applebees.com – 3
Coca-Cola cocacola.com – 3
Wendy’s wendys.com – 3
Pizza Hut pizzahut.com/ – 3
Reese’s reeses.com – 2
Sonic sonicdrivein.com – 2
Kit Kat kitkat.com – 1

Total: 17

Beer/Alcohol

Corona coronausa.com – 4

Total: 4

Car/Truck/Bike

Chevy chevy.com – 3
Toyota toyota.com – 3
GoodYear goodyear.com (Dale Earnhardt Jr.) #MakeAName – 2
RamTrucks.com ramtrucks.com – 2
Ford ford.com – 1
GMCDealer.com gmcdealer.com – 1
Sunoco sunocoinc.com – 1

Total: 13

Insurance/Health

Progressive progressive.com – 3
Geico.com geico.com – 2
TheGeneral.com thegeneral.com – 1
Liberty Mutual libertymutual.com – 1

Total: 7

Financial

USAA usaa.com/bank – 2

Total: 2

Technology

Fan Duel fanduel.com – 3
Yahoo Fantasy Sports sports.yahoo.com/fantasy – 1
Amazon Prime amazon.com/prime – 1
Comcast/tvadplanner comcast.com/tvadplanner – 1

Total: 6

Products/Services for the Home and Personal Use

Energy Transfer energytransfer.com – 1
Humira humira.com – 1

Total: 2

Travel

Marriott.com #GoldenRule – 2

Total: 2

Racing Related

Moto America motoamerica.com – 2

Total: 2

Race brdcast times:      Comm. brdcast times:

7:30 PM – 7:33 PM – 3      7:33 PM – 7:36 PM – 3
7:36 PM – 7:42 PM – 6      7:42 PM – 7:44 PM – 2
7:44 PM – 7:57 PM – 13      7:57 PM – 7:59 PM – 2
7:59 PM – 8:04 PM – 5       8:04 PM – 8:06 PM – 2
8:06 PM – 8:14 PM – 8      8:14 PM – 8:16 PM – 2
8:16 PM – 8:28 PM – 12       8:28 PM – 8:29 PM – 1
8:29 PM – 8:31 PM – 2       8:31 PM – 8:33 PM – 2
8:33 PM – 8:40 PM – 7      8:40 PM – 8:42 PM – 2
8:42 PM – 8:52 PM – 10      8:52 PM – 8:53 PM – 1
8:53 PM – 9:01 PM – 8      9:01 PM – 9:03 PM – 2
9:03 PM – 9:12 PM – 9      9:12 PM – 9:14 PM – 2
9:14 PM – 9:16 PM – 2      9:16 PM – 9:18 PM – 2
9:18 PM – 9:19 PM – 1      9:19 PM – 9:21 PM – 2
9:21 PM – 9:30 PM – 9       9:30 PM – 9:33 PM – 3
9:33 PM – 9:53 PM – 20      9:53 PM – 9:55 PM – 2
9:55 PM – 9:59 PM – 4      9:59 PM – 10:01 PM – 2
10:01 PM – 10:04 PM – 3      10:04 PM – 10:05 PM – 1
10:05 PM – 10:39 PM – 34      10:39 PM – checkered flag

Total race brdcst time: 156      Total comm. brdcst time: 33

Number of companies featured during broadcast: 21
(Monster Energy; Kroger; Wendy’s; Subway; Hunt Bros. Pizza; Burger King; Mountain Dew; Coca-Cola; Toyota; Ram Trucks; Mobil 1; Geico; Credit One Bank; ACE Hardware; IndyCar on NBCSN; Mecum Auctions on NBCSN; NBC Sports/Live; #HeyRut; NBC Sports on Sirius/XM NASCAR Radio channel 90; ‘Post-Race Coverage’ on NBCSN; NASCAR.com/Drive; NASCAR.com/Mobile; NASCAR.com/Scanner; upcoming Cup race)

Commercials during race broadcast: ‘Side-by-Side’ (‘Thank you!’ to all of the participating sponsors!)

8:21 PM – 8:24 PM
Ram Trucks; Pizza Hut; Geico; Sunoco; Pizza Hut; Las Vegas Motor Speedway lvms.com

9:38 PM – 9:41 PM
Chevy; Sonic; WeatherTech.com; US Bank; Sonic; Darlington Raceway DarlingtonRaceway.com

9:49 PM – 9:51 PM
FanDuel.com; Pay Day; Ally Bank (Jimmie Johnson) #chasing8 ; Corona beer; Indianapolis Motor Speedway IMS.com

10:15 PM – 10:17 PM
Coca-Cola; Subway; Geico; Toyota; Subway; Soccer on NBCSN; Thursday Night Football on NBC Sports

10:25 PM – 10:27 PM
Ram Trucks; McDonald’s; Bass Pro Shops & Cabela’s; GoCreditOne.com; upcoming Cup race